11 OHL grads win AUS Championship with StFX

Eleven OHL graduates have won an Atlantic University Sport Men’s Hockey Championship with the StFX X-Men following a 2-0 series sweep of the UNB Varsity Reds.

StFX’s second consecutive AUS title was capped off by a 5-4 home ice win on Tuesday as Michael Clarke (Peterborough Petes) scored the eventual game winner 12:59 into the third period. The X-Men overcame a 3-1 deficit with a three-goal second period to pull ahead for good.

Max Iafrate (Kitchener Rangers), Holden Cook (Owen Sound Attack) and Sam Studnicka (Sarnia Sting) also scored for the X-Men as they prevailed despite being outshot 35-28.

“It was a gritty effort—being down two goals and coming back to score three to take the lead,” X-Men captain Eric Locke (Saginaw Spirit) said during the on-ice celebration.

“They have a great team, but we just wanted it. We won it last year; we know what it feels like—it is so great—and we wanted that feeling again this season.”

The X-Men skated to a third place finish in the AUS this past season, finishing the campaign with a 16-12-2 record behind first place UNB and second place Acadia. They proceeded to go 7-0 in the postseason, eliminating Moncton, Acadia and UNB in the process.

StFX also defeated UNB in last year’s AUS Championship Series before the Varsity Reds got their revenge in the U SPORTS University Cup Final, skating to a 3-1 victory to win it all.

The StFX X-Men, UNB Varsity Reds and Acadia Axemen will all advance to the U SPORTS University Cup set to take place from March 16-19 at the Aitken Centre in Fredericton, NB.


OHL graduating team in brackets

Brandon Hope (Niagara IceDogs)*

Craig Duininck (Sudbury Wolves)*
Max Iafrate (Kitchener Rangers)*

Bryson Cianfrone (Owen Sound Attack)
Michael Clarke (Peterborough Petes)*
Holden Cook (Owen Sound Attack)*
Anthony DiFruscia (Niagara IceDogs)
Kristoff Kontos (Saginaw Spirit)*
Eric Locke (Saginaw Spirit)*
Nathan Pancel (Peterborough Petes)*
Sam Studnicka (Sarnia Sting)

*- second of back-to-back AUS titles with StFX

More News
42 OHL Players Selected in the 2017 NHL Draft
2 hours ago
Morgan Frost - 27th overall
14 hours ago
Nick Suzuki - 13th overall
14 hours ago
Gabriel Vilardi - 11th overall
14 hours ago
Owen Tippett - 10th overall
14 hours ago
Robert Thomas - 20th overall
14 hours ago