Colts’ Aaron Luchuk claims OHL Scoring Title

Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy (Scoring Champion): Aaron Luchuk, Barrie Colts

Aaron Luchuk recorded 50 goals and 65 assists for 115 points in 68 games to lead all OHL players in regular season scoring to earn the Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy which is one of two regular season league awards recognizing offensive statistical efforts.

The 20-year-old from Kingston, Ont., split his season between the Barrie Colts and the Windsor Spitfires where he was originally a fourth round pick in the 2013 OHL Priority Selection and captured a 2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup title.  Since his move to Barrie in December, the overage centre produced 22 goals and 42 assists for 64 points in 38 games as the Colts clinched their third Central Division title in four years.

Luchuk became the 12th all-time member of the Colts to reach the century mark for points on March 2, and his 50 goals tied for the league lead with teammate Dmitry Sokolov both attaining the milestone mark on March 16 and representing the first pair from the same team to accomplish the feat in the same season since 2005-06 London Knights Rob Schremp and David Bolland.

Signed to a free agent contract by the Ottawa Senators in December, Luchuk delivered 35 multi-point performances this season, recorded the league’s second longest point-streak at 21 games, and finishes his OHL career with 115 goals and 135 assists for 250 points in 274 regular season games.

Luchuk becomes the third member of the Colts to win the award following Kevin Labanc in 2015-16 with a club record 127 points in 65 games, and Sheldon Keefe who scored 121 points in 66 games back in the club’s 1999-2000 championship campaign.

The Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy was donated by the Toronto Marlboro Athletic Club in memory of Eddie Powers and was first awarded in 1945-46 to Tod Sloan of St. Michael’s who scored 79 points in 25 games.  Alex DeBrincat of the Erie Otters was last year’s recipient with 127 points in 63 games including 65 goals and 62 assists.  Other notable winners include Taylor Hall and Tyler Seguin who tied for the league’s scoring title before being chosen first and second overall respectively in 2010, while fellow first overall NHL picks John Tavares (2009), and Patrick Kane (2007) are also recent winners.

More News
2018 NHL Draft Profile: Akil Thomas
15 hours ago
Petes name Bob Gainey as Senior Advisor to Board of Directors
2 days ago
OHL's first round history impressive at NHL Draft
2 days ago
2018 NHL Draft Profile: Rasmus Sandin
2 days ago
Logan Morrison commits to Bulldogs
3 days ago
Donovan Sebrango commits to Rangers
3 days ago