IceDogs’ Dougie Hamilton named OHL Scholastic Player of the Year

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced that top 2011 NHL Entry Draft prospect Dougie Hamilton of the Niagara IceDogs is the Bobby Smith Trophy winner presented to the OHL’s Scholastic Player of the Year. 


Hamilton, a 17-year-old from Toronto, ON, attends Governor Simcoe Secondary School in St. Catharines where he maintains an overall academic average of 94% in six Grade 12 level courses including marks of 97% in Calculus, 95% in Physics, 95% in Personal and Fitness, 92% in English, 92% in Biology, and 91% in Chemistry.  This is Hamilton’s second straight Academic Award after winning the Ivan Tennant Memorial Award in his rookie season.  Hamilton becomes the first member of the IceDogs to be named Scholastic Player of the Year in this the fourth straight year where a member of the organization has been recognized for their achievements in the classroom.  Dougie’s older brother Freddie and teammate Alex Friesen earned top Academic High School honours for the 2008-09 and 2007-08 seasons. 


“On behalf of the entire Niagara IceDogs organization, we couldn’t be more proud of Dougie Hamilton for winning the Bobby Smith Award for the 2010-11 season,” said IceDogs President Denise Burke.  “Dougie’s hard work and dedication both on and off the ice has helped develop him into an outstanding young man.  His commitment to academics which allows him to achieve scholastic excellence year after year is simply amazing and just another reason why he is such a great role model for the youth of Niagara.”


On the ice, Hamilton is the top ranked defenceman for the 2011 NHL Entry Draft rated fourth overall among North American Skaters by NHL Central Scouting.  He finished fourth in scoring among OHL defencemen with 58 points in 67 games scoring 12 goals and 46 assists with an additional 77 minutes in penalties and a team-high plus-minus rating of plus-35.  This season he competed in the 2011 Home Hardware CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game scoring a goal for Team Orr, and was a member of Team OHL in the 2010 SUBWAY Super Series.  Hamilton was also named the Central Division Academic Player of the Month for December. 


“Dougie’s excellent academic standing, his sound character, and strong leadership capabilities both inside and outside the classroom are what set him apart from other student-athletes,” said IceDogs Academic Advisor Tim Tope.  “While his numerous activities are impressive, he has made a strong commitment to his studies.  His ability to lead his fellow peers through example and stay ‘grounded’ has been most impressive.”


Each year the Bobby Smith Trophy is presented to the OHL Scholastic Player of the year who best combines high standards of play and academic excellence.  The trophy is in honour of Bobby Smith, former Ottawa 67’s star who exhibited a standard of excellence in both of these areas. 


Former winners include NHL stars Brad Boyes (Erie 1999-2000), three-time winner Dustin Brown (Guelph 2001 to 2003), Steven Stamkos (Sarnia 2006-07), and Matt Duchene (Brampton 2008-09).  Last season Erik Gudbranson of the Kingston Frontenacs earned the award before being selected third overall by the Florida Panthers in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft. 


Rookie Eric Locke of the Barrie Colts is the runner-up for the award while fellow rookie and 2011 NHL Entry Draft prospect Lucas Lessio of the Oshawa Generals finished in third. 


Hamilton will be the OHL’s nominee for the CHL Scholastic Player of the Year Award and will be formally presented with the Bobby Smith Trophy at the annual OHL Awards Ceremony June 8 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.


All 20 of the OHL’s member clubs provide nominees for this award which represent the 2010-11 OHL Scholastic Team.


2010-11 Bobby Smith Trophy Nominees:

Barrie – Eric Locke

Belleville – Brendan Gaunce

Brampton – Barclay Goodrow

Erie – Adam Pelech

Guelph – Garret Sparks

Kingston – Ethan Werek

Kitchener – Ben Thomson

London – Tommy Hughes

Mississauga – Dylan DeMelo

Niagara – Dougie Hamilton

Oshawa – Lucas Lessio

Ottawa – Cody Ceci

Owen Sound – Robby Mignardi

Peterborough –Andrew D’Agostini

Plymouth – Tom Wilson

Saginaw – Brandon Saad

Sarnia – Brett Ritchie

Sudbury – Gregory Jambrosich

Sault Ste. Marie – Matt Murray

Windsor – Craig Duininck*


*Repeat All-Scholastic Team member


OHL Academic Highlights:

• OHL players successfully completed 97% of high school courses during the 2009-10 season.

• Of the 57 overage players that competed in the league during the 2009-10 season, 31 have signed professional hockey contracts while 26 have accessed their academic scholarships in 2010-11 at various institutions across North America.

• 363 OHL graduates and current players are on scholarship from OHL Member Teams at 66 different institutions across North America.


2010-11 OHL Academic Players of the Month:


West Division:

February – Grant Webermin, Windsor Spitfires

January – Brock Beukeboom, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds

December – Nathan Chiarlitti, Sarnia Sting

November – Brandon Saad, Saginaw Spirit

October – Tom Wilson, Plymouth Whalers


Midwest Division:

February – Jarrod Maidens, Owen Sound Attack

January – Chris Tierney, London Knights

December – Andrew Crescenzi, Kitchener Rangers

November – Garret Sparks, Guelph Storm

October – Adam Pelech, Erie Otters


Central Division:

February – Dylan DeMelo, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors

January – Samuel Schutt, Sudbury Wolves

December – Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs

November – Jordan Auld, Brampton Battalion

October – Mark Scheifele, Barrie Colts


East Division:

February – Andrew D’Agostini, Peterborough Petes

January – Ryan Shipley, Ottawa 67’s

December – Lucas Lessio, Oshawa Generals

November – Franky Palazzese, Kingston Frontenacs

October – Jan Kaminsky, Belleville Bulls


2010-11 OHL Award Winners:

Rookie of the Year – Nail Yakupov, Sarnia Sting

Coach of the Year – Mark Reeds, Owen Sound Attack

Overage Player of the Year – Jason Akeson, Kitchener Rangers

Scholastic Player of the Year – Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs

High School Academic Player of the Year – Andrew D’Agostini, Peterborough Petes

Post-Secondary School Player of the Year – Derek Lanoue, Windsor Spitfires

Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year – TBA

Humanitarian of the Year – TBA

Mickey Renaud Captain’s Trophy winner – TBA

Executive of the Year – TBA

Bill Long Award winner – TBA

Defenceman of the Year – TBA

Goaltender of the Year – TBA

OHL All-Star Teams – TBA

Most Outstanding Player of the Year – TBA

More News
Milestone Moments: Oct. 20/17
15 hours ago
Friday Highlights: Kids pitch in as Sting stretch winning streak to 10
16 hours ago
Oct. 20/17 - KGN (5) - SSM (6)
16 hours ago
Oct. 20/17 - HAM (1) - GUE (2)
17 hours ago
Oct. 20/17 - OSH (1) - OTT (2) - OT
17 hours ago
Oct. 20/17 - LDN (5) - KIT (1)
17 hours ago