OHL Announces Events and Participants for the 2010 OHL All-Star Classic Skills Competition

Kingston, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the six events that the OHL’s 40 All-Stars will participate in during the 2010 OHL All-Star Classic Skills Competition Tuesday night February 2nd at Kingston’s K-Rock Centre beginning at 7:00 pm.

All players have been divided amongst the Puck Control Relay Race, the One-on-One Puck Control Relay Race, the Fastest Skater, the Hardest Shot, and the Shooting Accuracy competition.  The sixth event will be the Penalty Shot Competition featuring all 18 skaters from both teams, with each of the two goalies facing a group of nine skaters from the opposing team.  Following these six events, a  20-minute Three-on-Three Game will take place to close out the competition. 

Of local interest, Kingston native Taylor Hall of the Windsor Spitfires will skate head-to-head against Frontenac star forward Ethan Werek in the One-on-One Puck Control Relay Race.  Frontenacs’ Captain Brian Lashoff will demonstrate his slap shot in the Hardest Shot competition, and goaltender Tyler Beskorowany will stand in goal during the second session of the Penalty Shot Competition against nine Western Conference All-Stars that include OHL top-scorer Tyler Seguin of the Plymouth Whalers and Nazem Kadri of the London Knights.  A complete list of events and participants is listed below.

Teams will receive a single point for each event they win.  All goals in the Penalty Shot Competition and Three-on-Three game count towards the overall score, with two points up for grabs for the goalie who makes the most saves in the Penalty Shot Competition. 

It starts tomorrow!  The Eastern Conference is aiming for a fifth-straight win at the 2010 OHL All-Star Classic.  Over the years the game has featured many players that have moved on to be NHL stars including the last three players to be selected first overall in the NHL Entry Draft including Patrick Kane, Steven Stamkos, and John Tavares. 

Proud sponsors of the event include All Weather Windows, Boston Pizza, Jack Link’s, and Subway.  The game will be broadcast live to a national television audience on Rogers Sportsnet and RDS.

Tickets to the 2010 OHL All-Star Classic events can be purchased separately at $25 for the Skills Competition on Tuesday February 2 and $30 for the Game on Wednesday February 3.  Both events begin at 7:00 pm with tickets available by going on-line at or by calling 1-877-KLIVE-99. They may also be purchased at the K-Rock Centre box office at 1 Barrack Street in Kingston.

For more information including Skills Competition results from last season please visit the official event website

2010 OHL All-Star Classic Skills Competition Events and Participants:

Puck Control Relay Race:

Team West:
Jeremy Morin, Kitchener Rangers
Nazem Kadri, London Knights
Jordan Skellett, Saginaw Spirit
AJ Jenks, Plymouth Whalers

Team East:
Cody Lindsay, Ottawa 67’s
Andrew Agozzino, Niagara IceDogs
Eric O’Dell, Sudbury Wolves
Casey Cizikas, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors

One-on-One Puck Control Relay:

Team West:
Taylor Hall, Windsor Spitfires

Team East:
Ethan Werek, Kingston Frontenacs

Fastest Skater:

Team West:
Eric Wellwood, Windsor Spitfires
Jesse Blacker, Owen Sound Attack
Tyler Seguin, Plymouth Whalers
Cam Fowler, Windsor Spitfires

Team East:
Sean Jones, Brampton Battalion
Alex Hutchings, Barrie Colts
Shawn Lalonde, Belleville Bulls
Stefan Della Rovere, Barrie Colts

Hardest Shot:

Team West:
Jacob Muzzin, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
Ryan Ellis, Windsor Spitfires
Joe Rogalski, Sarnia Sting
John Moore, Kitchener Rangers
Zack Torquato, Erie Otters

Team East:
Alex Pietrangelo, Barrie Colts
Brian Lashoff, Kingston Frontenacs
Nick Crawford, Barrie Colts
Tony DeHart, Oshawa Generals
Cameron Gaunce, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors

Shooting Accuracy:

Team West:
Taylor Beck, Guelph Storm
Adam Henrique, Windsor Spitfires
Jeff Skinner, Kitchener Rangers
Greg McKegg, Erie Otters

Team East:
Matt Kennedy, Barrie Colts
Pat Daley, Peterborough Petes
Tyler Toffoli, Ottawa 67’s
Devante Smith-Pelly, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors

Penalty Shot Competition:

Team West Goalies:
Matt Hackett, Plymouth Whalers (session one)
Robin Lehner, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (session two)

Team East Goalies:
Chris Carrozzi, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors (session one)
Tyler Beskorowany, Kingston Frontenacs (session two)

More News
Taylor records lowest rookie goals-agianst-average
2 hours ago
Andree and DiPietro allow fewest goals against
2 hours ago
Robertson captures OHL scoring crown
3 hours ago
Brazeau finishes as league's top scoring right winger
3 hours ago
OHL 'On the Run' Player of the Week: Jason Robertson
5 hours ago
POTN - Naturally Noel
6 hours ago