OHL graduates commit to U SPORTS programs for 2017-18 season

As OHL teams assemble their depth charts and confirm staff behind the bench for the fast approaching 2017-18 season, several of the league’s recent graduates are finding new homes on U SPORTS men’s university hockey teams.

Utilizing their OHL education packages, 22 players who skated during the 2016-17 season will join U SPORTS programs across the country this fall while an additional five who graduated from the league in past seasons will do so as well.

A total of 197 OHL graduates started the 2016-17 season on U SPORTS men’s hockey rosters, with 148 of those competing within Ontario University Sport and representing approximately 25% of the players in the 20-team conference.

Seven OHL graduates helped the York Lions claim their first OUA Queen’s Cup title in 13 years last spring, defeating the Queen’s Gaels 4-3 on a winning goal by Steven Janes (Ottawa 67’s/Owen Sound Attack/Windsor Spitfires, 2009-14).

Both York and Queen’s advanced to the U SPORTS University Cup Championship in Fredericton, New Brunswick as five OHL grads helped the host UNB Varsity Reds win a national title with a 5-3 victory over the Saskatchewan Huskies.

Last season, the OHL Central Administered Scholarship Program facilitated scholarships for 301 OHL graduates with a total scholarship payment in excess of $3.1M.


OHL graduates committed to U SPORTS programs for 2017-18:

Kris Bennett (Saginaw Spirit, 2012-17) – UNB

Nathan Billitier (Kingston Frontenacs, 2014-17) – Queen’s

Damian Bourne (Mississauga Steelheads, 2012-17) – Queen’s

Justin Brack (Owen Sound Attack/Niagara IceDogs, 2013-17) – Brock

Cody Caron (Niagara IceDogs/Kingston Frontenacs, 2013-17) – Carleton

Dawson Carty (Mississauga Steelheads/Kitchener Rangers/Hamilton Bulldogs, 2013-17) – Acadia

Santino Centorame (London Knights/Owen Sound Attack, 2012-17) – StFX

Michael Cramarossa (Belleville Bulls/Hamilton Bulldogs, 2012-17) – McGill

Dylan Di Perna (Kingston Frontenacs/Kitchener Rangers, 2012-17) – Saint Mary’s

Brett Hargrave (Sarnia Sting/Owen Sound Attack/North Bay Battalion, 2012-17) – Nipissing

Steve Harland (North Bay Battalion, 2015-17) – Ryerson

Kyle Jenkins (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds/Peterborough Petes, 2012-17) – Laurier

Jaden Lindo (Owen Sound Attack/Sarnia Sting, 2012-17) – Queen’s

Owen MacDonald (London Knights, 2012-17) – Acadia

David Miller (Kitchener Rangers/Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds, 2012-17) – Ryerson

Brent Moran (Niagara IceDogs/Flint Firebirds/North Bay Battalion, 2012-17) – Nipissing

Alex Peters (Plymouth Whalers/Flint Firebirds) – Saint Mary’s

Brandon Prophet (Saginaw Spirit/Barrie Colts/Peterborough Petes, 2012-17) – Queen’s

Patrick Sanvido (Windsor Spitfires/Sudbury Wolves, 2012-17) – Queen’s

Jared Steege (North Bay Battalion/Kingston Frontenacs/Ottawa 67’s, 2013-17) – Carleton

Anthony Stefano (Peterborough Petes/Windsor Spitfires/Barrie Colts) – Western

Patrick White (Sarnia Sting/Ottawa 67’s, 2013-17) – Ottawa


OHL players who graduated prior to 2016-17 committing to U SPORTS programs for 2017-18:

Connor Brown (Ottawa 67’s/Saginaw Spirit, 2012-16) – Brock

Greg DiTomaso (Mississauga Steelheads/Saginaw Spirit/Barrie Colts, 2013-16) – Ryerson

*Eric Locke (Windsor Spitfires/Barrie Colts/Saginaw Spirit, 2010-14) – transfer from StFX to Ottawa

Josh Maguire (Peterborough Petes, 2012-16) – UOIT

Mathew Santos (Brampton/North Bay Battalion, 2012-16) – Ryerson


CHL Scholarship Program and U Sports Partnership:

More News
OHL 20 in 20 Summer Spotlight: Spitfires come home with the Cup, reflect on successful season
16 hours ago
Cam Hillis commits to Storm
17 hours ago
Buffalo’s HarborCenter to showcase OHL stars and prospects
17 hours ago
OHL grad Cory Campbell named Sting Goaltending Coach
22 hours ago
IceDogs name Ted Dent Associate Coach
22 hours ago
Spitfires tour Memorial Cup across Ontario
22 hours ago