Past OHL stars Hall, McDavid shine at 2018 NHL Awards



As the game’s stars of tomorrow prepare for the 2018 NHL Draft in Dallas, the league handed out its annual hardware in Las Vegas at the 2018 NHL Awards at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino on Wednesday.

Among the OHL’s all-time greats, two-time Mastercard Memorial Cup champion Taylor Hall (Windsor Spitfires) of the New Jersey Devils and 2015 CHL Player of the Year Connor McDavid (Erie Otters) of the Edmonton Oilers were front and centre at the annual ceremony.

Hall claimed the prestigious Hart Trophy awarded to the NHL’s Most Valuable Player. The first overall pick of the 2010 NHL Draft set career highs across the board in his second season with the New Jersey Devils, recording 39 goals, 54 assists and 93 points over 76 games. He becomes the first Devils player to ever win the award and adds it to a career resume that also includes back-to-back Mastercard Memorial Cup MVP honours as well as an Eddie Powers Trophy as the OHL’s leading scorer in 2010.

McDavid came away with his second consecutive Art Ross Trophy as the NHL’s leading scorer while also earning the Ted Lindsay Award for a second straight year. The Ted Lindsay Award is given to the NHL player voted as the league’s most valuable by members of the NHLPA. The Edmonton Oilers captain recorded his second-straight 100-point season, leading the league with 108 points including 41 goals and 67 assists. He is the first player to win the Ted Lindsay Award twice before the age of 22 and is the third Oilers player to claim the honour, joining Wayne Gretzky and Mark Messier.


Here’s s complete look at OHL produced award winners and all-star team members announced Wednesday night in Las Vegas.



Hart Trophy (MVP): Taylor Hall (Windsor Spitfires/New Jersey Devils)
Art Ross Trophy (Leading Scorer): Connor McDavid (Erie Otters/Edmonton Oilers)
Ted Lindsay Award (MVP, voted by the players): Connor McDavid (Erie Otters/Edmonton Oilers)
Calder Trophy (Rookie of the Year): Mathew Barzal (Seattle Thunderbirds/New York Islanders)


First All-Star Team
D – Drew Doughty (Guelph Storm/Los Angeles Kings)
C – Connor McDavid (Erie Otters/Edmonton Oilers)
LW – Taylor Hall (Windsor Spitfires/New Jersey Devils)

Second All-Star Team
D – P.K. Subban (Belleville Bulls/Nashville Predators)

More News
OHL This Week: February 21 to 24, 2019
11 hours ago
Four weeks to play, four races to watch
12 hours ago
67's, Knights and Greyhounds included in Kia CHL Top 10
17 hours ago
Wawanesa OHL Plays of the Week: February 20, 2019
18 hours ago
#CIBCShowdown - Week ending Feb. 17/2019
23 hours ago
Three Stars: February 19, 2019
1 day ago