Rogers OHL Championship Series Officiating Team

Keith Dotson/OHL Pucks & Stripes

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the Officiating Team for the 2017 Rogers OHL Championship Series for the Robertson Cup between the Erie Otters and the Mississauga Steelheads beginning Thursday night in Erie.

Conrad Haché, OHL Director of Officiating, has assigned 11 officials for the Championship Series including five Referees and six Linesmen.

Referees named to work the series are Darcy Burchell of Hamilton, Mike Cairns of Toronto, Scott Ferguson of Etobicoke, Scott Oakman of Mount Albert and Sean Reid of Ottawa.

Linesmen selected to work the series are Adam Harris of Hamilton, Andrew Jackson of Caledon, Justin Knaggs of Whitby, Dustin McCrank of Guelph, Geoff Rutherford of Windsor and Andrew Smith of Kitchener.

Reid is working his 10th Championship Series, Cairns and Ferguson are in their sixth, Oakman is officiating his fifth and Burchell is working his fourth.  Among the linesmen, McCrank is working his fifth Championship Series, Knaggs and Jackson their third while Harris, Rutherford and Smith are working their first.

2017 Rogers OHL Championship Series Officiating Team:

(Number of OHL seasons in brackets)

Darcy Burchell (11)
Mike Cairns (8)
Scott Ferguson (10)
Scott Oakman (18)
Sean Reid (18, 14 as a Referee)

Adam Harris (8)
Andrew Jackson (10)
Justin Knaggs (7)
Dustin McCrank (9)
Geoff Rutherford (17)
Andrew Smith (1)

The 2017 Rogers OHL Championship Series features the Western Conference champion Erie Otters making their third trip to the OHL Final while the Mississauga Steelheads reach the league championship for the first time.

The Robertson Cup is emblematic of the Ontario Hockey League’s championship series.  The Cup was presented by J. Ross Robertson, who was president of the Ontario Hockey Association from 1901 to 1905.  Since its inception, the Robertson Cup has been won by 23 different teams with the Oshawa Generals leading the way with 13 championships including a record seven straight from 1938-44.

The Erie Otters won their lone Robertson Cup title in franchise history in 2002 while the Mississauga Steelheads are in search of their first OHL Championship.

More News
2019 OHL Priority Selection Profile: Liam Arnsby
41 mins ago
Charging Bulls: Celebrating the 1999 OHL Champions
1 hour ago
Three Stars: March 25, 2019
4 hours ago
Monday Highlights: Greyhounds sprint to Game 3 victory
14 hours ago
2019 OHL Priority Selection Profile: Josh Bloom
15 hours ago
POTN - Villalta Gets Across
15 hours ago