Whalers’ Trocheck wins Red Tilson Trophy

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced that forward Vince Trocheck of the Plymouth Whalers is the 2012-13 recipient of the Red Tilson Trophy awarded to the OHL’s Most Outstanding Player of the Year as voted by the writers and broadcasters that cover the league.

Trocheck captured the Eddie Powers Trophy as Top OHL Scorer this season with 50 goals and 59 assists for 109 points in 63 games and produced a league-high plus-minus rating of plus-49.  

“It’s definitely an honor to win this award,” Trocheck said.  “To have my name with so many (other) prestigious names up there, it’s an honour.  Coach Vellucci helped me a ton, especially to win this award.  He did a lot for me individually and I learned a lot in the time I was in Plymouth.  It was a great group of guys and I’ll have life-time friendships with a lot of them.”

The 19-year-old from Pittsburgh, PA, becomes the third member of the Whalers organization to win the award following Tyler Seguin (2009-10), David Legwand (1997-98), and Pat Peake who earned the honour with the Detroit Jr. Red Wings (1992-93).  He also becomes just the fourth American-born player to win the award following Legwand, Peake, and fellow Pittsburgh area native Michael Houser who won the award last season with the London Knights.

“Vince was a pleasure to coach,” said Whalers GM/Head Coach Mike Vellucci.  “His move to Plymouth was an easy transition.  He works hard on all aspects of his game, both offensively and defensively.  He is an intelligent hockey player and is deserving of the Red Tilson Trophy.”

Drafted in the second round, 24th overall by the Saginaw Spirit in the 2009 OHL Priority Selection, Trocheck has played 264 OHL regular season games producing 120 goals and 179 assists for 299 points.  He was acquired by the Whalers in January after winning Gold with Team USA at the 2013 World Junior Championship.  Upon his arrival in Plymouth, Trocheck averaged more than two points per game with 59 in the final 28 games of the season including an OHL-high 21-game point-streak to help the Whalers capture their 12th division title.  A two-time OHL Player of the Week this season, Trocheck was also considered to be the Best on Face-offs by Western Conference Coaches in the annual Coaches Poll.  He was also listed as the second Best Shootout Shooter, and the third Most Dangerous in the Goal Area.  The Florida Panthers prospect was selected in the third round of the 2011 NHL Draft.

“We are extremely proud that Vince has been selected as the OHL’s Most Outstanding Player of the Year,” said Florida Panthers Executive VP/GM Dale Tallon. “Vince had an exceptional season this year capturing the OHL scoring title, while leading Plymouth in scoring during the playoffs. He is one of our prospects who has matured and developed through hard work and dedication since being drafted. We are excited about his continued growth and development within our organization.”

The Red Tilson Trophy is the most prestigious individual award presented by the Ontario Hockey League.  Accredited media were asked to select their top three choices from the 20 nominees representing all 20 member clubs.  Players received five points for a first place selection, three points for second place and one point for a third place selection.

In over 80 ballots collected, Trocheck received 298 points in the voting process receiving first place votes on over 64% of all ballots.  Goaltender Malcolm Subban of the Belleville Bulls finished second in the voting with 78 points, followed by Charles Sarault of the Sarnia Sting with 75 voting points.

The trophy is named in honour of Albert “Red” Tilson, who was killed in action in Europe during World War II. Tilson was the OHA scoring champion for the 1942-43 season after scoring 19 goals and 38 assists for 57 points in 22 games with the Oshawa Generals.

Other winners of the Red Tilson Trophy include Frank Mahovlich (Toronto 1957), Mike Foligno (Sudbury, 1979), Doug Gilmour (Cornwall 1983), Eric Lindros (Oshawa 1991), Brian Campbell (Ottawa 1999), Brad Boyes (Erie 2001 & 2002), Corey Locke (Ottawa 2003 & 2004), John Tavares (Oshawa 2007), Cody Hodgson (Brampton 2009), and Ryan Ellis (Windsor 2011).

Trocheck will be the OHL’s nominee for the Canadian Hockey League Player of the Year Award presented at the CHL Awards Ceremony during the 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup in Saskatoon, SK. 

More News
Milestone Moments: Oct. 21/17
5 hours ago
Oct. 21/17 - OS (4) - ER (6)
6 hours ago
Oct. 21/17 - SAR (7) - BAR (2)
7 hours ago
Oct. 21/17 - KIT (1) - OSH (2)
7 hours ago
Oct. 21/17 - KGN (2) - SBY (3)
7 hours ago
Oct. 21/17 - PBO (3) - FLNT (7)
7 hours ago