Hockey Hall of Fame Hosts 2009-10 OHL Award Winners

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League held its annual awards ceremony Wednesday afternoon in the Verizon Great Hall at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto. 

In addition to the 16 presented awards, OHL Commissioner David Branch congratulated the OHL Champion Windsor Spitfires, winners of the 2010 MasterCard Memorial Cup, and made presentations of the Wayne Gretzky 99 Award for OHL Playoff MVP to Adam Henrique, and the Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy for MasterCard Memorial Cup MVP to Taylor Hall. 

Members of the Mississauga Rebels minor midgets, winners of the 2010 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament, were also in attendance and recognized.

2009-10 OHL Award Recipients:

Mickey Renaud Trophy/Captain’s Award – John, Kurtz, Sudbury Wolves
(Presented by Mark Renaud)

Jack Ferguson Award / 1st Overall pick in OHL Priority Selection  – Alex Galchenyuk
(Presented by Jack Ferguson – accepted by Dave MacQueen

Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy / Top overage player – Bryan Cameron, Barrie Colts
(Presented by Luca Caputi)

William Hanley Memorial Trophy / Most sportsmanlike – Ryan Spooner, Peterborough Petes
(Presented by Luca Caputi)

Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy / Top Scorer – Taylor Hall, Windsor Spitfires, and Tyler Seguin, Plymouth Whalers
(Presented by Dustin Jeffrey)

Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy /Humanitarian of the Year – Ryan Hayes, Plymouth Whalers
(Presented by Graham Snyder)

OHL Executive of the Year – Rick Gaetz, Guelph Storm
(Presented by Sherry Bassin)

Matt Leyden Trophy / Coach of the year – Dale Hunter, London Knights
(Presented by Rob Faulds)

Bill Long Award/Service to the OHL – Peter Karmanos Jr., Plymouth Whalers
(Presented by Sherry Bassin)

Ivan Tennant Memorial Award / Top academic high school player – Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs
(Presented by Dave Tennant)

Roger Neilson Memorial Award / Top academic university or college player – Derek Lanoue, Windsor Spitfires 
(Presented by Janet Wylie)

Bobby Smith Trophy / Scholastic player of the year – Erik Gudbranson, Kingston Frontenacs
(Presented by Ryan Kuwabara)

Emms Family Award / Rookie of the year – Matt Puempel, Peterborough Petes
(Presented by Matt Belesky)

OHL Goaltender of the Year – Chris Carrozzi, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
(Presented by Matt Belesky)

Max Kaminsky Trophy / Most outstanding defenceman – Jacob Muzzin, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
(Presented by Phil Dover)

Red Tilson Trophy / Most Oustanding Player – Tyler Seguin, Plymouth Whalers
(Presented by P.K Subban – accepted by Mike Vellucci)