Wayne Gretzky 99 Award – Warren Foegele

Watch more Playoffs on OHL TV

Erie Otters forward Warren Foegele has been named the Most Valuable Player of the 2017 OHL Playoffs and is the recipient of the Wayne Gretzky ’99’ Award.

The Carolina Hurricanes prospect finished the OHL Playoffs with 13 goals, 13 assists and 26 points in 22 games, collecting eight of those points in the Rogers OHL Championship Series.

“I have 25 great teammates that help me do everything and I couldn’t do it without them,” said Foegele during championship celebrations. “This is a huge character group and everyone here made me feel welcome, I’m just happy to be a part of it all.”

A midseason acquisition from the Kingston Frontenacs, Foegele made regular contributions during Erie’s playoff run. The Markham, Ont. native scored a number of big goals including a second round Game 7 overtime winner against the London Knights, a shorthanded game winner in Game 4 of the Western Conference Final against Owen Sound and posted a five point performance against Mississauga in Game 4 of the Rogers OHL Championship Series.

Foegele becomes the third Otters player to win the award, following Connor McDavid in 2015 and Brad Boyes of the 2002 OHL Champion Otters.

The OHL introduced the Wayne Gretzky 99 Award in 1999 to honour the Most Valuable Player in the OHL Playoffs as selected by the media.  Gretzky, a native of Brantford, graduated from the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds to become the most prolific scorer in the history of the NHL.  The league created the award in tribute of ‘The Great One’ shortly after he announced his retirement from the NHL in 1999.

Wayne Gretzky 99 Award winners:
2017 – Warren Foegele (Erie Otters)
2016 – Mitchell Marner (London Knights)
2015 – Connor McDavid (Erie Otters)
2014 – Robby Fabbri (Guelph Storm)
2013 – Bo Horvat (London Knights)
2012 – Austin Watson (London Knights)
2011 – Robby Mignardi (Owen Sound Attack)
2010 – Adam Henrique (Windsor Spitfires)
2009 – Taylor Hall (Windsor Spitfires)
2008 – Justin Azevedo (Kitchener Rangers)
2007 – Marc Staal (Sudbury Wolves)
2006 – Daniel Ryder (Peterborough Petes)
2005 – Corey Perry (London Knights)
2004 – Martin St. Pierre (Guelph Storm)
2003 – Derek Roy (Kitchener Rangers)
2002 – Brad Boyes (Erie Otters)
2001 – Seamus Kotyk (Ottawa 67’s)
2000 – Brian Finley (Barrie Colts)
1999 – Justin Papineau (Belleville Bulls)

More News
Bulldogs look for bounce-back effort against Swift Current
3 hours ago
Kaliyev a star in the making for Bulldogs
4 hours ago
Acadie-Bathurst stays perfect with high-scoring win over Regina
18 hours ago
Acadie-Bathurst edges Swift Current in overtime
2 days ago
#MMC100 Three Stars for Game One
2 days ago
Five Takeaways from Regina's opening night win
2 days ago