About the OHL

OHLGenericThe Ontario Hockey League (OHL) is regarded one of the top player development Leagues in the world, and continues to be a leading supplier of talent to both the National Hockey League and Canada’s National teams at all levels as well as U SPORTS (Canadian University) hockey.

The OHL consists of 20 member teams, including 17 in the province of Ontario as well as three in the United States, with two in the state of Michigan and one in the state of Pennsylvania. OHL member teams compete for the J. Ross Robertson Cup, a trophy dedicated to the legacy of former OHA president, Canadian newspaper publisher, politician and philanthropist John Ross Robertson that was first awarded in 1934.

The OHL is a proud member of the Canadian Hockey League (CHL) which is the world’s largest development hockey league with 60 teams in nine Canadian provinces and four American states. In addition to the OHL, the CHL is made up of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) and the Western Hockey League (WHL). At the conclusion of each League’s playoffs, the CHL hosts the Memorial Cup presented by Kia, a National Championship tournament involving each of the three League’s champions and the tournament host. The winner is awarded Canadian junior hockey’s most prestigious prize, the Memorial Cup, which was first awarded in 1919.

The OHL strives to develop players both on and off the ice as they pursue their professional and academic goals. The OHL Scholarship provides players graduating from the League with the opportunity to attend the post-secondary institution or career-enhancing program of their choice with a minimum of one year’s tuition, books and compulsory feeds for each season played. The OHL Centrally Administered Scholarship Program facilitated scholarships for 334 OHL graduates attending post-secondary institutions across North American for the 2019-20 academic year, with a total contribution by teams of over $3 million.

In addition to dedicated academic advisors supporting players on each of the League’s 20 member teams, the OHL player experience also includes comprehensive support programs such as the Talk Today program in partnership with the Canadian Mental Health Association as well as the OHL ONSIDE program in partnership with the Ontario Coalition of Rape Crisis Centres (OCRCC). The League also recently appointed 2019 Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award recipient Rico Phillips as its Director of Cultural Diversity and Inclusion.

The OHL is committed to remaining a world leader in the development of players, coaches and officials for the NHL, U SPORTS and Hockey Canada while continuing to offer the finest player experience and academic opportunities. The OHL also continues to be recognized for a high standard of competition, fair play and integrity while playing an active role in communities, minor hockey programs and local charitable initiatives.