OSH / SBY to host SUBWAY® Super Series

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League in association with SUBWAY® restaurant chain along with the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, the Ontario Hockey League, and the Western Hockey League today announced the six Canadian host centres for the 2013 SUBWAY® Super Series to be played November 18-28, 2013.


The six-game series, which features regional teams of Canadian National Junior Team candidates competing against the Russian National Junior Team, begins with two games hosted by the QMJHL on Monday November 18 in Gatineau, QC, home of the Olympiques, and Wednesday November 20 in Sherbrooke, QC, home of the Phoenix.  The competition shifts to the OHL for the middle leg of the series with Game 3 to be hosted by the Oshawa Generals on Thursday November 21, followed by Game 4 hosted by the Sudbury Wolves on Monday November 25.  The final two games of the series move west to Alberta where the WHL’s Red Deer Rebels will host Game 5 on Wednesday November 27, with the series concluding on Thursday November 28 with Game 6 hosted by the Lethbridge Hurricanes.


The SUBWAY® Super Series has been an integral part of the identification process for Team Canada for the past 10 years prior to the IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship.  Last season, Team Russia captured their second SUBWAY® Super Series title since 2010 and later edged Canada 6-5 in overtime of the Bronze Medal Game of the 2013 World Junior Championship played in Ufa, Russia, with a roster that included five CHL players and an additional 17 players from this series.  Last year’s Canadian National Junior Team featured 22 players from the 2013 SUBWAY® Super Series along with Rebels’ grad Ryan Nugent-Hopkins who participated in the event in 2010. 


“On behalf of all SUBWAY® restaurants across the country, we are thrilled to return for our fifth straight season as title sponsor of the SUBWAY® Super Series,” said Kathleen Bell, Marketing and Creative Services Director, SUBWAY® Franchisee Advertising Fund.  “We are excited that our partnership provides us with the opportunity to lend our support to such an exciting event that has become a fixture on the hockey calendar each November, helping us engage CHL fans not only in the six local host markets but across the entire country.”


The event returns to five of the six 2013 SUBWAY® Super Series hosts with Gatineau previously hosting a 3-2 QMJHL shootout victory in 2007 led by current Boston Bruin Brad Marchand.  Oshawa hosted a 4-3 OHL win in 2006 with the game-winner scored by current Winnipeg Jet Bryan Little.  Sudbury has twice hosted the series including 2007 where Team OHL won 4-2 with a squad that featured Steven Stamkos and John Tavares, then hosted a 2-1 shootout victory for Team OHL in 2010 led by hometown hero and Buffalo Sabre Marcus Foligno.  Red Deer and Lethbridge both hosted in 2004 with current Winnipeg Jet Andrew Ladd scoring two goals and an assist as part of a 6-0 WHL win in Red Deer, and current Washington Capital Eric Fehr scoring a goal and an assist in a 5-2 WHL win in Lethbridge. 


All six games of the SUBWAY ® Super Series will be broadcast nationally on Sportsnet with TVA Sports televising both games from the QMJHL.


The 2013 SUBWAY® Super Series is supported by CHL associate sponsors Bank of Montreal and Old Dutch.


2013 SUBWAY® Super Series Schedule of Games:

Game 1 – Monday November 18 at Gatineau, QC

Game 2 – Wednesday November 20 at Sherbrooke, QC

Game 3 – Thursday November 21 at Oshawa, ON

Game 4 – Monday November 25 at Sudbury, ON

Game 5 – Wednesday November 27 at Red Deer, AB

Game 6 – Thursday November 28 at Lethbridge, AB


For more information please visit


About SUBWAY® Restaurants

SUBWAY® Restaurants is the world’s largest submarine sandwich franchise, with more than 39,000 restaurants in over 100 countries and more than 3,000 restaurants in Canada.  In 2011, the SUBWAY® chain surpassed McDonald’s in the number of restaurant locations worldwide. Headquartered in Milford, Conn., the SUBWAY® restaurant chain was cofounded by Fred DeLuca and Dr. Peter Buck in 1965. For more information about the SUBWAY® chain, visit


SUBWAY® is a registered trademark of Doctor’s Associates Inc.

More News
OHL 20 in 20: Flint Firebirds
5 mins ago
OHL Mourns the Loss of Ron Ringler
15 hours ago
OHL 20 in 20: North Bay Battalion
1 day ago
Colts Announce Changes Within Hockey Operations Staff
2 days ago
OHL 20 in 20: Sarnia Sting
2 days ago
Bulldogs' Donovan signs with Senators
2 days ago