2015-16 Minor Midget Player of the Year Awards


Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the seven recipients of Minor Hockey Player of the Year Awards for players representing the four Ontario Hockey Federation Member Partners including the ALLIANCE, Greater Toronto Hockey League, Northern Ontario Hockey Association, and both the Ontario Minor Hockey Association’s ETA and SCTA regions, along with Hockey Eastern Ontario, and Hockey Northwestern Ontario.

Five of the seven award winners are currently competing at the 2016 OHL Cup and include Owen Lalonde of the Windsor Jr. Spitfires named ALLIANCE Player of the Year, Ryan Merkley of the Toronto Jr. Canadiens named GTHL Player of the Year, Quintin Loon-Stewardson of the Thunder Bay Kings named HNO Player of the Year, Damien Giroux of the Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves named NOHA Player of the Year, and Adam McMaster of the Niagara North Stars named OMHA SCTA Player of the Year.  Additional award recipients include Paul Larabie of the Nepean Raiders named HEO Player of the Year, and Aidan Dudas of the North Central Predators named OMHA ETA Player of the Year.

“The Ontario Hockey League is proud to recognize the achievements of these great players,” said Adam Dennis, the OHL’s Director of Recruitment, who presented the awards at Thursday night’s OHL Cup Banquet.  “Congratulations to all seven award winners and to their families, coaches, and teammates for a tremendous hockey season, and best of luck to all players as they prepare for the next step in their hockey and academic careers.”

Lalonde and Merkley represent the lone defencemen to claim Player of the year Awards producing more than a point-per-game from the blueline this season leading their clubs in scoring.  Lalonde tallied 37 points including 13 goals in 33 games, with Merkley collecting 44 points including seven goals in 33 games.  Merkley represented Canada and earned a silver medal at the Youth Olympic Games playing alongside Dudas who scored 51 points including 25 goals in 31 games for the Predators.  Other stat lines among the forwards include McMaster who led his club with 53 points including 27 goals in 36 games, Giroux with 36 points and 15 goals in 23 games, Larabie picked up 34 points in 45 games with 15 goals for his Midget AAA club, while Loon-Stewardson led the Kings with 62 points including 32 goals in 55 games.

The awards were presented at the OHL Cup Showcase Tournament Banquet for the sixth straight year recognizing the achievements of the top minor midget aged players from across Ontario.  The awards are presented annually to honour the minor midget players who best exemplify outstanding ability and the qualities of sportsmanship and leadership as voted by the minor hockey coaches, managers and organizations of each respective league.

The 2015-16 Minor Midget Player of the Year Awards were proudly sponsored by Graduor.

Past Award Winners:

ALLIANCE Player of the Year:
2016 – Owen Lalonde, Windsor Jr. Spitfires
2015 – Nick Suzuki, London Jr. Knights
2014 – Anthony Salinitri, Windsor Jr. Spitfires
2013 – Travis Konecny, Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs
2012 – Jared McCann, London Jr. Knights Gold
2011 – Bo Horvat, Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs

GTHL Player of the Year:
2016 – Ryan Merkley, Toronto Jr. Canadiens
2015 – Ryan McLeod, Toronto Marlboros
2014 – Adam Mascherin, Vaughan Kings
2013 – Dylan Strome, Toronto Marlboros
2012 – Connor McDavid, Toronto Marlboros
2011 – Nick Ritchie, Toronto Marlboros

HEO Player of the Year:
2016 – Paul Larabie, Nepean Raiders
2015 – Gabriel Vilardi, CIH Academy
2014 – William Bitten, Ottawa Jr. 67’s
2013 – Andrew Peski, Ottawa Jr. 67’s
2012 – Andrew Abou-Assaly, Ottawa Jr. 67’s
2011 – Nicholas Baptiste, Ottawa Senators

HNO Player of the Year:
2016 – Quintin Loon-Stewardson, Thunder Bay Kings
2015 – Kyle Auger, Thunder Bay Kings
2014 – Brad Belisle, Thunder Bay Kings
2013 – Zach Grzelewski, Thunder Bay Kings
2012 – Bryce Martyn, Thunder Bay Kings
2011 – Nolan Nicholas, Thunder Bay Kings

NOHA Player of the Year:
2016 – Damien Giroux, Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves
2015 – Cayse Ton, New Liskeard Cubs
2014 – Zach Dorval, Soo Thunder
2013 – Blake Speers, Soo Thunder
2012 – Michael Amadio, Sault Ste. Marie North Stars
2011 – Ryan Kujawinski, Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves

OMHA ETA Player of the Year:
2016 – Aidan Dudas, North Central Predators
2015 – Brady Gilmour, Quinte Red Devils
2014 – Chris Paquette, Greater Kingston Jr Frontenacs

OMHA SCTA Player of the Year:
2016 – Adam McMaster, Niagara North Stars
2015 – Liam Stevens, Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs
2014 – Rylee St Onge, Niagara North Stars

*prior to 2014 there was a single OMHA Player of the Year award recipient

Past OMHA Players of the Year:
2013 – Matt Spencer, Oakville Rangers*
2012 – Nik Coric, York Simcoe Express*
2011 – Alex Yuill, Quinte Red Devils*

For more information please visit

More News
2019-20 OHL Awards In Review
8 mins ago
CHL to announce 2019-20 award winners May 28 to June 10
10 hours ago
Petes' Robertson to join Maple Leafs in preparation for return to play
10 hours ago
Otters encourage outdoor activity and online togetherness with Virtual Community 3K
10 hours ago
2019-20 OHL All-Star Teams
18 hours ago
2019-20 OHL All-Rookie Teams
21 hours ago