2017 OHL Western Conference Championship Series Schedule

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the schedule for the 2017 OHL Western Conference Championship Series for the Wayne Gretzky Trophy between the Erie Otters and the Owen Sound Attack beginning this Friday night, April 21, in Erie.

The third round series features the top two Western Conference teams based on points during the 2016-17 regular season.  The first place Erie Otters produced a record fourth straight 50-win season ending the campaign with a 50-15-2-1 mark for 103 points earning a second straight Hamilton Spectator Trophy and third straight Midwest Division crown.  The Attack finished with a franchise best record of 49-15-2-2 for 102 points.

The Otters advance to the Western Conference Championship Series on the heels of a dramatic Game 7 overtime victory over the London Knights on Tuesday night after eliminating the Sarnia Sting in a first round series sweep.  The Attack reached the third round following a 4-2 series win over the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds and a 4-1 series win over the Kitchener Rangers in the first round.

The Otters won the season series 4-2 including victories of 5-2 (Oct. 22), 5-1 (Nov. 8), and back-to-back wins of 3-2 (Dec. 3), and 6-1 (Dec. 4) in the first half.  The Attack won the first matchup of the season by a 4-3 overtime decision on October 21, and also took the final meeting of the season by a 4-2 score on February 26.

The Western Conference Champion receives the Wayne Gretzky Trophy named in honour of the Hockey Hall of Fame member who played for the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds in 1977-78.  Since the two conference division in 1999, the Otters have secured titles in 2015 and 2002 while the Attack celebrated the franchise’s only Western Conference title in 2011.

This season marks the first playoff meeting between the Otters and Attack in OHL history.



Game 1, Fri., April 21 Owen Sound at Erie, 7:00
Game 2, Sat., April 22 Owen Sound at Erie, 7:00
Game 3, Mon., April 24 Erie at Owen Sound, 7:00
Game 4, Wed., April 26 Erie at Owen Sound, 7:00
Game 5, Fri., April 28 Owen Sound at Erie, 7:00*
Game 6, Sun., April 30 Erie at Owen Sound, 2:00*
Game 7, Mon., May 1 Owen Sound at Erie, 7:00*
*if necessary


Who will win the Wayne Gretzky Trophy in the OHL Western Conference Championship Series?

Total Votes: 1,745



More News
Four OHL representatives recognized with 2023 CHL Awards
1 day ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Dave Cameron (Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award)
2 days ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Evan Vierling (Sportsman Player of the Year Award)
2 days ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Dalyn Wakely (Humanitarian of the Year Award)
2 days ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Colby Barlow (Scholastic Player of the Year Award)
2 days ago
Peterborough's remarkable run comes to an end in Memorial Cup Semi-Final
2 days ago