21 OHL Players at Canada’s National Under-18 Selection Camp

OHL Images

Hockey Canada’s ‘Summer Showcase’ continues into the weekend in Calgary with Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team Selection Camp.

In its second summer, the National Teams’ Summer Showcase will bring together Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team selection camp (44 players) and Canada’s national under-17 development camp (111 players) in Calgary, at the Markin MacPhail Centre from July 26-Aug. 2. Canada’s National Junior Team Sport Chek Summer Development Camp (41 players) will be hosted in Toronto July 30-Aug. 2, and will feature a four-game series against the Finland, Sweden and the United States from Aug. 3-6 in Plymouth, Mich.

From July 29-Aug. 2, 44 players – four goaltenders, 16 defencemen, and 24 forwards – will participate in practices and three Red-White intrasquad games.

Of the 44 players who have been invited to the selection camp, 22 will be selected for Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team for the 2016 U18 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup, Aug. 8-12 in Breclav, Czech Republic and Bratislava, Slovakia. Canada has won the summer under-18 tournament 11 times in the last 12 years, including the last eight consecutive years.

The 44 players includes 42 from across the Canadian Hockey League with 21 from the Ontario Hockey League, 12 from the Western Hockey League, and nine from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.

Ryan Jankowski, director of player personnel for Hockey Canada, was responsible for all player selections, with input from coaches and general managers from across the Canadian Hockey League.

OHL Players Attending Canada’s National Under-18 Selection Camp:

Goaltenders (2):
Michael DiPietro (Windsor Spitfires)
Jacob McGrath (Sudbury Wolves)

Defencemen (8):
Ian Blacker (London Knights)*
Evan Bouchard (London Knights)
Jakob Brahaney (Kingston Frontenacs)
Hayden Davis (Niagara IceDogs)
Brady Lyle (North Bay Battalion)
Jacob Paquette (Kingston Frontenacs)
Markus Phillips (Owen Sound Attack)
Elijah Roberts (Kitchener Rangers)

Forwards (11):
MacKenzie Entwistle (Hamilton Bulldogs)
Brady Gilmour (Saginaw Spirit)
Austen Keating (Ottawa 67’s)
Ryan McLeod (Mississauga Steelheads)
Greg Meireles (Kitchener Rangers)
Isaac Ratcliffe (Guelph Storm)
Matthew Strome (Hamilton Bulldogs)
Jack Studnicka (Oshawa Generals)
Nick Suzuki (Owen Sound Attack)
Owen Tippett (Mississauga Steelheads)
Gabriel Vilardi (Windsor Spitfires)

*player is committed to OHL for 2016-17



For more information on Hockey Canada and its national teams, please visit, or follow along through social media at, and

More News
CHL to announce 2019-20 award winners May 28 to June 10
9 hours ago
Petes' Robertson to join Maple Leafs in preparation for return to play
9 hours ago
Otters encourage outdoor activity and online togetherness with Virtual Community 3K
10 hours ago
2019-20 OHL All-Star Teams
18 hours ago
2019-20 OHL All-Rookie Teams
21 hours ago
Wayback Wednesday: Sarnia at Plymouth (Nov. 7, 1998)
21 hours ago