54 OHL Grads Competing at 2019 University Cup



The Canadian Hockey League is proud to announce that 168 graduates from the Western Hockey League (79 players), Ontario Hockey League (54 players), and Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (36 players) will compete in the 2019 University Cup, accounting for nearly 80% of participants.

This year’s tournament, which begins March 14 at the University of Lethbridge, sees eight teams compete for the national title, including the Queen’s Gaels, Guelph Gryphons, New Brunswick Reds, St. Francis Xavier X-Men, Alberta Golden Bears, Saskatchewan Huskies, Carleton Ravens, and the hosting Lethbridge Pronghorns.

The Golden Bears won it all in 2018, defeating the X-Men in the Championship Final by a 4-2 score. Stephane Legault (Edmonton Oil Kings), Wil Tomchuk (Prince George Cougars), Luke Philp (Red Deer Rebels), and Jamie Crooks (Victoria Royals) provided the offense for the Golden Bears en route to victory. All of Legault, Tomchuk, and Philp, who was named the 2018-19 Canada West Player of the Year, returned for the 2018-19 season.

This year, the Golden Bears advanced to the University Cup after defeating the Huskies in the Canada West Championship, while the Gaels topped the Gryphons in Ontario University Athletics action, and the Reds took down the X-Men in the Atlantic University Sport final. The Ravens (OUA bronze medallists) and Pronghorns (host and Canada West quarterfinalist) round out the pack.

The defending champion Golden Bears enter the single-elimination tournament as the top-ranked squad, led by Philp, who tallied 45 points in 24 games, Cole Sanford (Regina Pats), with 14 goals and 25 assists in 28 contests, and Jason Fram (Spokane Chiefs), who notched nine goals and 21 assists in 28 appearances.

Opening day tournament action sees the Golden Bears take on the provincial rival Pronghorns, while the Huskies will face off against the Gryphons. The gold-medal game will be held next Sunday at 10pm ET/7pm PT.


Queen’s Gaels (15 OHL Grads):

Justin Fazio (Sarnia Sting 2018)
Jack Flinn (Mississauga Steelheads 2016)

Spencer Abraham (Erie Otters 2014)
Nathan Billitier (Kingston Frontenacs 2017)
Graeme Brown (Kingston Frontenacs 2016)
William Brown (Ottawa 67’s 2017)
Stephen Gibson (Mississauga Steelheads 2018)
Nevin Guy (Ottawa 67’s 2016)
Patrick Sanvido (Sudbury Wolves 2017)

Slater Doggett (Windsor Spitfires 2015)
Ben Fanjoy (Ottawa 67’s 2017)
Mason Kohn (Saginaw Spirit 2018)
Jaden Lindo (Sarnia Sting 2017)
Eric Ming (Niagara IceDogs 2014)
Francesco Vilardi (Flint Firebirds 2016)

Guelph Gryphons (12 OHL Grads):

Justin Lemcke (Hamilton Bulldogs 2018)
Mark Raycroft (Belleville Bulls 2014)
Jesse Saban (North Bay Battalion 2018)
Matt Timms (London Knights 2019)

Mikkel Aagaard (Sudbury Wolves 2016)
Andres Kopstals (Mississauga Steelheads 2014)
Ryan Migliaccio (Guelph Storm 2015)
Ted Nichol (Kingston Frontenacs 2018)
Scott Simmonds (Belleville Bulls 2014)
Marc Stevens (Guelph Storm 2016)
Cody Thompson (Mississauga Steelheads 2015)
Ryan Valentini (Sudbury Wolves 2018)

New Brunswick Reds (6 OHL Grads):

Noah Carroll (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds 2018)
Marcus McIvor (North Bay Battalion 2015)

Kris Bennett (Saginaw Spirit 2017)
Cameron Brace (Belleville Bulls 2014)
James McEwan (Guelph Storm 2018)
Patrick Watling (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds 2014)

St. Francis Xavier X-Men (8 OHL Grads):

Santino Centorame (Owen Sound Attack 2017)
Daniel Robertson (Windsor Spitfires 2017)

Bryson Cianfrone (Owen Sound Attack 2016)
Holden Cook (Owen Sound Attack 2015)
Anthony DiFruscia (Niagara IceDogs 2016)
Adam Laishram (Windsor Spitfires 2017)
Nathan Pancel (Peterborough Petes 2015)
Sam Studnicka (Sarnia Sting 2016)

Alberta Golden Bears (1 OHL Grad):

Brendan Burke (London Knights 2016)

Saskatchewan Huskies (1 OHL Grad):

Shane Collins (London Knights 2018)

Carleton Ravens (10 OHL Grads):

Justin Nichols (Oshawa Generals 2016)

Andrew Burns (Kitchener Rangers 2017)
Josh Burnside (Mississauga Steelheads 2016)
Evan de Haan (Ottawa 67’s 2016)
C.J. Garcia (Saginaw Spirit 2017)
Josh Supryka (Kingston Frontenacs 2017)

Cody Caron (Kingston Frontenacs 2017)
Brett Gustavsen (Belleville Bulls 2015)
Jacob Smith (Windsor Spitfires 2018)
Jared Steege (Ottawa 67’s 2017)

Lethbridge Pronghorns (1 OHL Grad):

Garret Hughson (Windsor Spitfires 2016)


For full coverage of the 2019 U SPORTS University Cup visit

More News
2020 OHL Priority Selection Draft Show
53 mins ago
OHL ready for 2020 Online Priority Selection presented by Real Canadian Superstore
1 hour ago
2020 OHL Priority Selection: Five to Watch
5 hours ago
#OHLDraft Introductions: 1st Overall Pick Ty Nelson (North Bay Battalion)
7 hours ago
In Conversation: OHL Commissioner David Branch
13 hours ago
Battalion announces Ty Nelson as First Overall Pick in the 2020 OHL Priority Selection
15 hours ago