6 OHL Grads win CIS University Cup with UNB

24 CHL graduates are CIS University Cup Champions with the UNB Varsity Reds following a 3-1 win over the StFX X-Men on Sunday in Halifax, NS.

Christopher Clapperton (Rimouski Oceanic), Francis Beauvillier (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies) and Tyler Carroll (Guelph Storm) had goals to lead UNB to its sixth University Cup title and fifth in the last ten years.

The victory sees UNB rebound from a loss in the CIS Finals to the University of Alberta Golden Bears a year ago.

Goaltender Etienne Marcoux (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada) made 22 saves to record the victory as the Varsity Reds outshot StFX 30-23 in front of 9,873 in Halifax.

UNB claims its first University Cup title since 2013, claiming wins over Western and Saint Mary’s to reach the finals.

Victoriaville Tigres graduate Philippe Halley recorded six goals, an assist and seven points in three games to earn Major W.J. ‘Danny’ McLeod MVP honours.

Halley was also named to the CIS University Cup All-Star Team alongside fellow CHL grads in Michael Clarke (StFX/Peterborough Petes), Nathan Chiarlitti (StFX/Owen Sound Attack), Jordan Murray (UNB/Drummondville Voltigeurs) and goaltender Jordon Cooke (Saskatchewan/Kelowna Rockets).

UNB2016ChampionsUNB forward Mike Thomas added a CIS Championship to his collection that includes a QMJHL President Cup title and MasterCard Memorial Cup crown with the Saint John Sea Dogs in 2011.

24 CHL graduates won silver medals with the finalist and AUS Champion StFX X-Men, being led in scoring throughout the championship by Michael Clarke’s four goals in three games. Clarke sent StFX to the CIS Championship game with a triple overtime winner against the Saskatchewan Huskies.

The Saint Mary’s Huskies defeated Saskatchewan on Sunday afternoon as 20 CHL graduates earned bronze medals. Saint Mary’s struck for four unanswered goals as Calder Brooks (Spokane Chiefs) scored twice and Stephen MacAulay (Halifax Mooseheads) had a goal and an assist.

In total, 167 CHL graduates competed in the eight-team CIS University Cup with 68 alumni earning medals.

Tournament MVP:
Philippe Halley (UNB Varsity Reds/Victoriaville Tigres 2013) – 3 GP, 6-1–7, +9

CIS University Cup Tournament All-Star Team:
G – Jordon Cooke (Saskatchewan Huskies/Kelowna Rockets 2014) – 3 GP, 1-2, 1.84 GAA, .942 SV%
D – Nathan Chiarlitti (StFX X-Men/Owen Sound Attack 2013) – 3 GP, 0-3–3, +4
D – Jordan Murray (UNB/Drummondville Voltigeurs 2013) – 3 GP, 0-2–2, +2
F – Michael Clarke (StFX/Peterborough Petes 2015) – 3 GP, 4-0–4, +4
F – Philippe Halley (UNB Varsity Reds/Victoriaville Tigres) – 3 GP, 6-1–7, +9

CIS University Cup Champions (Gold) – UNB Varsity Reds (24 CHL Grads):
Stephen Anderson (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles 2015)
Francis Beauvillier (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies 2014)
Matt Boudens (Drummondville Voltigeurs 2014)
Cameron Brace (Belleville Bulls 2014)
Cam Braes (Moose Jaw Warriors 2012)
Chris Caissy (Moncton Wildcats 2014)
Tyler Carroll (Guelph Storm 2011)
Christopher Clapperton (Rimouski Oceanic 2015)
Cam Critchlow (Halifax Mooseheads 2012)
Alex Dubeau (Moncton Wildcats 2015)
Randy Gazzola (Val-d’Or Foreurs 2014)
Philippe Halley (Victoriaville Tigres 2013)
Taylor MacDougall (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles 2011)
Philippe Maillet (Victoriaville Tigres 2013)
Etienne Marcoux (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada 2014)
Marcus McIvor (North Bay Battalion 2015)
Rob Mignardi (Owen Sound Attack 2011)
Jordan Murray (Drummondville Voltigeurs 2013)
Matt Petgrave (Oshawa Generals 2014)
Colin Suellentrop (Oshawa Generals 2014)
Mike Thomas (Saint John Sea Dogs 2011)
Peter Trainor (Rimouski Oceanic 2014)
Alex Wall (Quebec Remparts 2011)
Dylan Willick (Kamloops Blazers 2013)

CIS Finalists (Silver) – St. Francis Xavier X-Men (24 CHL Grads):
Nathan Chiarlitti (Owen Sound Attack 2013)
Morgan Clark (Rimouski Oceanic 2011)
Michael Clarke (Peterborough Petes 2015)
Holden Cook (Owen Sound Attack 2015)
Brad Cuzner (Halifax Mooseheads 2013)
Jagger Dirk (Kootenay Ice 2014)
Craig Duininck (Sudbury Wolves 2014)
Blake Gal (Spokane Chiefs 2013)
Cole Grbavac (Medicine Hat Tigers 2012)
Brandon Hope (Niagara IceDogs 2015)
Aaron Hoyles (Sherbrooke Phoenix 2015)
Max Iafrate (Kitchener Rangers 2015)
Kristoff Kontos (Saginaw Spirit 2014)
Steven Kuhn (Spokane Chiefs 2012)
Trey Lewis (Halifax Mooseheads 2014)
Eric Locke (Saginaw Spirit 2014)
Cory MacIntosh (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles 2013)
Zack MacQueen (Windsor Spitfires 2012)
Bronson Maschmeyer (Kamloops Blazers 2012)
Drew Owsley (Prince George Cougars 2012)
Nathan Pancel (Peterborough Petes 2015)
Adam Stevens (Gatineau Olympiques 2014)
Mark Tremaine (Saint John Sea Dogs 2015)
Brent Turnbull (Rimouski Oceanic 2014)

CIS Bronze Medalists – Saint Mary’s Huskies (20 CHL Grads):
Steven Beyers (Barrie Colts 2013)
Calder Brooks (Spokane Chiefs 2015)
Taylor Burke (Moncton Wildcats 2015)
Cole Cheveldave (Prince Albert Raiders 2014)
Alex Cord (Mississauga Steelheads 2013)
Michael Curtis (Erie Otters 2014)
Michael D’Orazio (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors 2011)
Jamie Doornbosch (Kitchener Rangers 2011)
Ben Duffy (Prince Edward Island Rocket 2013)
Stephen Gillard (Halifax Mooseheads 2013)
Gerrad Grant (Halifax Mooseheads 2011)
Austyn Hardie (Halifax Mooseheads 2015)
Stephen Johnston (Windsor Spitfires 2011)
Stephen MacAulay (Halifax Mooseheads 2013)
Mitchell Maynard (Shawinigan Cataractes 2012)
Francis Menard (Brampton Battalion 2013)
Kyle Pereira (Guelph Storm 2012)
Steven Shipley (Niagara IceDogs 2013)
Matt Tipoff (Kitchener Rangers 2011)
Justin Weller (Red Deer Rebels 2012)

For more information please visit

More News
OHL congratulates AHL President and CEO Dave Andrews on his retirement
15 hours ago
Ashley HomeStore Fantastic Five: Creative goals
15 hours ago
CHL Import Draft Recap
2 days ago
Ashley HomeStore Fantastic Five: Breakaway saves
3 days ago
OHL Clubs Select 23 Players in 2020 CHL Import Draft
3 days ago
Battalion select Matvei Petrov with First Overall Pick of 2020 CHL Import Draft
3 days ago