67’s capture East Division title


With wins on Friday and Sunday, the Ottawa 67’s are 2019 OHL East Division champions.

The 67’s rebounded from a Thursday night loss in Barrie with a 5-3 road win over the Hamilton Bulldogs Friday night. OHL all-time shutouts leader Michael DiPietro made 22 saves on Sunday for the 18th of his OHL career as the Barber Poles blanked visiting Mississauga 3-0 to lock up first place in the Eastern Conference.

Now 46-11-3-2 with six games remaining on the schedule, the 67’s claim the 16th Leyden Trophy in franchise history, doing so for the first time since earning the last of three straight division titles in 2012.

Head coach Andre Tourigny’s club has already made a 28-point improvement over last year’s eighth place finish in the Eastern Conference, getting consistent contributions from the big line of OHL goal scoring leader Tye Felhaber, rookie standout Marco Rossi and playmaking winger Austen Keating.

The 67’s have also benefitted from general manager James Boyd’s midseason overage additions of Kyle Maksimovich and Lucas Chiodo up front while goaltenders DiPietro (2.46) and Cedrick Andree (2.53) are first and second respectively in league goals-against average.

The 67’s have surrendered a league-low 172 goals this season and are in the midst of a 14-game winning streak on home ice, playing to a record of 28-2-0-1 in the nation’s capital this season.

With 97 points atop the Eastern Conference, the 67’s set out to secure their first 100-point season since 1999 next weekend when they take on the Kingston Frontenacs and Oshawa Generals in a three-in-three set.

More News
Meet The Future | 2022 NHL Draft Interview: David Goyette - Seattle Kraken
2 hours ago
2022 World Juniors Daily: Aug. 14
6 hours ago
OHL Classics: Jeff O'Neill
1 day ago
Former OHL blueliner Dr. Geoffrey Schemitsch enters surgical residency
2 days ago
Futures Watch: Sudbury Wolves
2 days ago
2022 World Juniors Daily: Aug. 12
2 days ago