67’s capture Hamilton Spectator Trophy as regular season champions


The Ottawa 67’s are 2019 OHL regular season champions, claiming the Hamilton Spectator Trophy for the fourth time in franchise history.

With three games remaining on their schedule, the 48-12-3-2 67’s secured the honour following a London Knights 5-1 loss in Guelph on Thursday.

The CHL’s fourth-ranked 67’s have eclipsed the 100-point mark in the standings for the fourth time in club history, securing regular season supremacy after past honours in 1997, 1982 and 1978 under the leadership of legendary coach Brian Kilrea.

The Hamilton Spectator Trophy was first presented to the Ontario Hockey Association in the 1957-58 season.  Winners have gone on to capture the OHL championship 24 times and the Memorial Cup 11 times.  The 2017 Erie Otters hoisted the Robertson Cup two years ago following their second straight regular season title while the 2009 Windsor Spitfires were the last OHL club to complete the trifecta, emerging as Memorial Cup champions.

André Tourigny’s club has surrendered a league-low 175 goals this season in front of goaltenders Cedrick AndreeMichael DiPietro and Will Cranley. The 67’s boast the OHL’s best home record, skating to a 28-3-0-1 mark in the nation’s capital.

Offensively, Dallas Stars prospect Tye Felhaber is the club’s first 50-goal, 100-point scorer since Tyler Toffoli last accomplished both marks during the 2011 and 2012 seasons. He’s joined by talented playmaker Austen Keating, emerging 2020 NHL Draft prospect Marco Rossi, San Jose Sharks prospect Sasha Chmelevski and fellow overage veterans in Kyle Maksimovich and Lucas Chiodo on the attack.

The 2019 East Division champion 67’s are chasing their fourth OHL Championship in franchise history and first since they last hoisted the J. Ross Robertson Cup in 2001. The 67’s are also two-time Memorial Cup champions, capturing CHL supremacy in both 1984 and 1999.

More News
Firebirds' Othmann Named to CHL Team of the Week for Nov. 22-28
21 mins ago
Dickinson, McDonnell and Pastujov Named to U.S. National Junior Team Preliminary Roster
2 hours ago
OHL Saves of the Week: Nov. 30, 2021
16 hours ago
Capital City Challenge: Generals' Ritchie making an impact
19 hours ago
The OHL Cup Returns March 30th
20 hours ago
OHL Cup Powered by Under Armour Top 10 Rankings - Week 1 (Nov. 30, 2021)
20 hours ago