Connor McDavid is OHL Rookie of Year

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced that forward Connor McDavid of the Erie Otters is the 2012-13 recipient of the Emms Family Award presented to the OHL’s Rookie of the Year.


McDavid, a 16-year-old from Newmarket, ON, scored 25 goals and 41 assists for 66 points in 63 games to finish second in rookie scoring as the OHL’s youngest player. 


“It’s a tremendous honour,” McDavid said in a media conference call.  “I was fortunate to have a good enough year to win.  It was a fun year with the Otters.  The coaches, players, and staff were all so welcoming.”


Granted Exceptional Player Status last year to enter the OHL Priority Selection as a 15-year-old, McDavid was chosen first overall by the Otters.  He recorded a 15-game point streak that began in just his second career game and claimed OHL Rookie of the Month honours for both October and November.  He also represented Team OHL competing in the SUBWAY Super Series becoming the youngest player to ever participate in the event, then suited up for Team Ontario in the 2013 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge where he was named a Tournament All-Star.


“You build championships around players with this special ability,” said Otters General Manager Sherwood Bassin.  “He’s a very special person, phenomenal work ethic, to know him is to love him.”


McDavid becomes the first member of the Otters to be named OHL Rookie of the Year since it was first presented in 1973.  He is also the third player to earn the honour after receiving Exceptional Player Status following last year’s Rookie of the Year Aaron Ekblad of the Barrie Colts, and John Tavares who won the award in 2006 with the Oshawa Generals.


The Emms Family Award was donated by Leighton “Hap” Emms, former owner of the Barrie, Niagara Falls, and St. Catharines OHL franchises.  The award has been presented to players such as Wayne Gretzky (Sault Ste. Marie, 1977-78), Joe Thornton (Sault Ste. Marie, 1995-96), Rick Nash (London, 2000-01), Patrick Kane (London 2006-07), Taylor Hall (Windsor 2007-08), and Nail Yakupov (Sarnia 2010-11). 


The Emms Family Award is selected by all 20 member club General Managers.  Teams were asked to submit only one nominee from their own club for consideration on the ballot and were not permitted to vote for the player from their own hockey club.  Players received five points for a first vote, three points for a second place vote, and one point for a third place vote.


McDavid finished first in the voting process with 85 points out of a maximum 95.  Top scoring rookie Nikolay Goldobin of the Sarnia Sting was runner-up for the award with 29 voting points, followed by Blake Clarke of the Brampton Battalion who received 22 points in the voting process.


McDavid was also named to the First All-Rookie team at centre, and was joined at forward by left winger Michael Dal Colle of the Oshawa Generals who was also one of six Rookie of the Year Finalists, and right winger Spencer Watson of the Kingston Frontenacs.  The Fronts’ Roland McKeown was also listed on defence alongside Nikita Zadorov of the London Knights, with Alex Nedeljkovic of the Plymouth Whalers in goal. 


Goldobin and Clarke were listed as Second All-Rookie Team wingers between the Fronts’ Sam Bennett and Sault Ste. Marie Greyhound Jared McCann who tied in votes for the centre position.  Brandon Prophet of the Saginaw Spirit and Jacob Middleton of the Ottawa 67’s were listed as Second All-Rookie defencemen, with Michael Giugovaz of the Peterborough Petes between the pipes.


The OHL All-Rookie Teams were also selected by the OHL’s General Managers.  Players were voted on initially by position within their conference receiving five points for a first place vote, three for a second place vote, and one for a third.  Top vote getters in each position made up the final ballot that was then circulated to all 20 teams. 


2012-13 OHL All-Rookie Teams (voting points in brackets):


First Team:

Centre – Connor McDavid, Erie Otters (95)

Left Wing – Michael Dal Colle, Oshawa Generals (71)

Right Wing – Spencer Watson, Kingston Frontenacs (69)

Defence – Nikita Zadorov, London Knights (91)

Defence – Roland McKeown, Kingston Frontenacs (89)

Goaltender – Alex Nedeljkovic, Plymouth Whalers (91)


Second Team:

Centre – Sam Bennett, Kingston Frontenacs tied Jared McCann, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (34)

Left Wing – Blake Clarke, Brampton Battalion (59)

Right Wing – Nikolay Goldobin, Sarnia Sting (65)

Defence – Brandon Prophet, Saginaw Spirit (42)

Defence – Jacob Middleton, Ottawa 67’s (31)

Goaltender – Michael Giugovaz, Peterborough Petes (41)

More News
2022 World Juniors Daily: Aug. 12
2 hours ago
Futures Watch: Oshawa Generals
19 hours ago
2022 World Juniors Daily: Aug. 11
1 day ago
Futures Watch: Sarnia Sting
2 days ago
Carter Lowe commits to Colts
2 days ago
Sting commit Vilmanis playing for Latvia at World Juniors
2 days ago