Facts & Figures: 15 OHL players set for tonight’s Kubota CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game


The 2023 Kubota CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game hits the ice tonight in Langley, British Columbia! Those staying up late can catch 15 of the OHL’s top prospects eligible for the 2023 NHL Draft when the puck drops at 10:00pm ET on TSN and in the United States on NHL Network.

Game Notes:

  • 15 players have participated in this event before being selected first overall: Chris Phillips (1996), Joe Thornton (1997), Vincent Lecavalier (1998), Rick Nash (2002), Marc-Andre Fleury (2003), Patrick Kane (2007), Steven Stamkos (2008), John Tavares (2009), Taylor Hall (2010), Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (2011), Nathan MacKinnon (2013), Aaron Ekblad (2014), Connor McDavid (2015), Nico Hischier (2017) and Alexis Lafreniere (2020). Sidney Crosby (2005) and Nail Yakupov (2012) were both invited but unable to compete due to injury and were later chosen first overall.
  • The 2022 Kubota CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game in Kitchener saw Team White skate to a 3-1 victory over Team Red as Jake Karabela (Guelph Storm) found the back of the net and added an assist for the victors. The game was played before a crowd of 5,969 at the Kitchener Memorial Auditorium.
  • The event returns to Vancouver for the first time since 2016 when Team Orr skated to a 3-2 win over Team Cherry at the Pacific Coliseum. Michael McLeod (Mississauga Steelheads) earned Player of the Game honours for Team Cherry while Jordan Kyrou (Sarnia Sting) had a pair of assists and Logan Brown (Windsor Spitfires) found the back of the net. Pascal Laberge (Victoriaville Tigres) was the star of the show, picking up two goals and an assist, setting up Pierre-Luc Dubois (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles) for the game winner. Dylan Wells (Peterborough Petes) stopped 19 of 20 to pick up the win. The WHL’s Vancouver Giants have since moved to the Langley Events Centre where tonight’s 27th edition of the annual showcase will be held.
  • This marks the third time the event has been played in Vancouver. Giants star Gilbert Brule put on a performance for the record books before a home crowd in 2005, scoring the only hat trick in the history of the event to lead Team Cherry to an 8-4 win over Team Davidson.
  • 370 players from this event have been selected in the first round of the NHL Draft since 1996.
  • 10 players from the 2022 game became first round NHL Draft selections including a pair of OHL players in Shane Wright (4th overall, Seattle) and Pavel Mintyukov (10th overall, Anaheim).
  • The Kitchener Rangers (Hunter Brzustewicz, Carson Rehkopf) and London Knights (Denver Barkey, Oliver Bonk) are being represented by multiple players this year. The Knights have had a CHL record 37 players compete in the event since 1996.
  • The Plymouth Whalers hold the record with five players in one game played in 2000 (Tomas Kurka, Jared Newman, Libor Ustrnul, Kris Vernarsky, and Justin Williams). Additionally, the Guelph Storm became the 12th team to feature four players last year (Michael Buchinger, Jake Karabela, Matthew Poitras, Danny Zhilkin). Other teams with four in one game have included Halifax (2018 and 2003), Mississauga (2016), Rimouski (2013), Saint John (2011), Portland (2011 and 2010), Kingston (2006), Kitchener (2005), Calgary (2004), Red Deer (2001), Seattle (2000), Medicine Hat (1996).
  • The Soo Greyhounds see their annual run of at least one player competing in the game come to an end. The Hounds had blueliner Andrew Gibson named to the initial roster before he sustained an injury, making it 13 straight years that they’ve had a player selected to compete in the game.
  • The winning team is awarded. the Don Cherry and Bobby Orr CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game Trophy, first presented in 2006, that includes names of all past players. The Jim Gregory Player of the Game Awards were first presented in 2012.



Includes midseason NHL Draft ranking assigned by NHL Central Scouting. For full rosters, visit

G – Charlie Robertson (NB) – 12 D – Oliver Bonk (LDN) – 18
D – Beau Akey (BAR) – 25 D – Hunter Brzustewicz (KIT) – 33
D – Cam Allen (GUE) – 29 LW – Colby Barlow (OS) – 10
C – Denver Barkey (LDN) – 84 LW – Ethan Miedema (KGN) – 45
LW – Nick Lardis (HAM) – 96 LW – Luca Pinelli (OTT) – 49
RW – Alex Pharand (SBY) – 54 LW – Carson Rehkopf (KIT) – 31
RW – Coulson Pitre (FLNT) – 41 C – Calum Ritchie (OSH) – 17
C – Carey Terrance (ER) – 50
Coach – Ron Delorme Coach – Brent Seabrook
Coach – Michael Dyck Coach – Daniel Sedin
Coach – Henrik Sedin Coach – Stan Smyl
More News
OHL Highlights: Jan. 28/23 - NIAG (2) - ER (6)
1 hour ago
OHL Mourns the Loss of Hazel McCallion
3 hours ago
Saturday Highlights: Terrance tallies twice as Otters treat capacity crowd to victory
16 hours ago
NHL Debut: Owen Beck (Jan. 28, 2023)
17 hours ago
OHL Highlights: Jan. 28/23 - SBY (3) - OS (4)
17 hours ago
OHL Highlights: Jan. 28/23 - SAR (8) - SAG (2)
17 hours ago