OHL Announces 2010-11 All-Star Teams

 Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the All-Star teams for the 2010-11 OHL regular season. 

The Owen Sound Attack, who recently captured the Wayne Gretzky Trophy as Western Conference Champions, are represented the most on the First All-Star Team with two players including Colorado Avalanche first round pick Joey Hishon at centre, with captain and Florida Panthers prospect Garrett Wilson listed at left wing.  Matt Leyden Trophy winner Mark Reeds, the OHL’s Coach of the Year, is also on the first team.  Also representing the Attack as an All-Star is Toronto Maple Leafs prospect defenceman Jesse Blacker named to the third team. 

The Eastern Conference Champions and Bobby Orr Trophy winners the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors lead the way with four players represented in total including San Jose Sharks prospect JP Anderson in goal for the Second All-Star Team, along with Boston Bruins prospect Marc Cantin on defence.  Majors’ captain and New York Islanders prospect Casey Cizikas earned a spot on the Third All-Star Team at centre, as did defenceman and Washington Capitals prospect Brett Flemming.  Head Coach Dave Cameron appears behind the bench on the second team for the second straight year.

Max Kaminsky Trophy winner and Nashville Predators prospect Ryan Ellis is the only player on any of the three All-Star teams who is a repeat winner.  He appears on the first team just as he did in 2008-09 when he last captured Defenceman of the Year honours.  Last season he was listed on the Second All-Star team.  Joining Ellis on the point for the first team this season is 2011 NHL Entry Draft prospect Ryan Murphy, while Top Scorer and co-recipient of the Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy and Los Angeles Kings prospect Tyler Toffoli of the Ottawa 67’s is listed at right wing.  Rounding out the first team in goal is OHL Goaltender of the Year and Phoenix Coyotes first round pick Mark Visentin of the Niagara IceDogs.   

The OHL All-Star Teams were selected by the OHL’s General Managers.  Players were voted on by position and received five points for a first place vote, three for a second place vote, and one for a third place vote.  In the case of defencemen, the top two selections received five points, the third and fourth selections received three points, and the fifth and sixth selections each received a single point. 


2010-11 OHL All-Star Teams (voting points in brackets):


First Team:

Centre – Joey Hishon, Owen Sound Attack (63)
Left Wing – Garrett Wilson, Owen Sound Attack (61)
Right Wing – Tyler Toffoli, Ottawa 67’s (47)
Defence – Ryan Ellis, Windsor Spitfires (91)
Defence – Ryan Murphy, Kitchener Rangers (71)
Goaltender – Mark Visentin, Niagara IceDogs (63)
Coach – Mark Reeds, Owen Sound Attack (60)


Second Team:

Centre – Ryan Strome, Niagara IceDogs (48)
Left Wing – Marcus Foligno, Sudbury Wolves (41)
Right Wing – Jason Akeson, Kitchener Rangers (39)
Defence – Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs (43)
Defence – Marc Cantin, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors (33)
Goaltender – JP Anderson, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors (59)
Coach – Dave Cameron, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors (56)


Third Team:

Centre – Casey Cizikas, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors (34)
Left Wing – Josh Shalla, Saginaw Spirit (36)
Right Wing – Christian Thomas, Oshawa Generals (35)
Defence – Brett Flemming, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors (30)
Defence – Jesse Blacker, Owen Sound Attack (28)
Goaltender – Petr Mrazek, Ottawa 67’s (24)
Coach – Michael Vellucci, Plymouth Whalers (20)

More News
2022 World Juniors Daily: Aug. 12
3 hours ago
Futures Watch: Oshawa Generals
20 hours ago
2022 World Juniors Daily: Aug. 11
1 day ago
Futures Watch: Sarnia Sting
2 days ago
Carter Lowe commits to Colts
2 days ago
Sting commit Vilmanis playing for Latvia at World Juniors
2 days ago