OHL Announces 2011-12 All-Star Teams

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the All-Star teams for the 2011-12 OHL regular season. 


Both clubs competing in the Rogers OHL Championship Series are well represented on all three All-Star teams with the Niagara IceDogs leading the way with four players, followed by the London Knights with three players.  IceDogs’ All-Stars include Defenceman of the Year Dougie Hamilton on the first team, goaltender Mark Visentin on the second team, and overage forwards Alex Friesen and Andrew Agozzino listed as third team All-Stars.  The Knights are represented by Scott Harrington on defence for the first team along with Goaltender of the Year Michael Houser.  Forward Seth Griffith was voted to the second team at right wing.


The first team also includes OHL Top Scorer Michael Sgarbossa of the Sudbury Wolves at centre, with Brandon Saad of the Saginaw Spirit at left wing, and Tyler Toffoli of the Ottawa 67’s at right wing.  The Spirit’s Greg Gilbert is also listed on the first team as the OHL’s Coach of the Year.


Toffoli was voted a first team All-Star for the second straight season, while fellow first team All-Star Dougie Hamilton was on the second team last year.  Second team All-Stars Visentin and defenceman Ryan Murphy of the Kitchener Rangers are also recognized for the second straight season having both appeared as first team All-Stars in 2010-11. 


The OHL All-Star Teams were selected by the OHL’s General Managers.  Players were voted on by position and received five points for a first place vote, three for a second place vote, and one for a third place vote.  In the case of defencemen, the top two selections received five points, the third and fourth selections received three points, and the fifth and sixth selections each received a single point. 


2011-12 OHL All-Star Teams (voting points in brackets):

First Team:
Centre – Michael Sgarbossa, Sudbury Wolves (86)
Left Wing – Brandon Saad, Saginaw Spirit (45)
Right Wing – Tyler Toffoli, Ottawa 67’s (75)
Defence – Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs (93)
Defence – Scott Harrington, London Knights (60)
Goaltender – Michael Houser, London Knights (74)
Coach – Greg Gilbert, Saginaw Spirit (45)

Second Team:
Centre – Sean Monahan, Ottawa 67’s (27)
Left Wing – Tanner Pearson, Barrie Colts (36)
Right Wing – Seth Griffith, London Knights (42)
Defence – Cody Ceci, Ottawa 67’s (55)
Defence – Ryan Murphy, Kitchener Rangers (46)
Goaltender – Mark Visentin, Niagara IceDogs (46)
Coach – Steve Spott, Kitchener Rangers (39)

Third Team:
Centre – Alex Friesen, Niagara IceDogs (23)
Left Wing – Andrew Agozzino, Niagara IceDogs (32)
Right Wing – Nail Yakupov, Sarnia Sting (35)
Defence – Beau Schmitz, Plymouth Whalers (30)
Defence – Ryan Sproul, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (28)
Goaltender – John Gibson, Kitchener Rangers (30)
Coach – Stan Butler, Brampton Battalion (34)

More News
Friday Highlights: Big performances launch busy weekend
3 hours ago
Real Canadian Superstore Save Of The Night: Josh Rosenzweig "Get Out Of Town"
3 hours ago
Jan. 21/22 - SOO (4) - GUE (2)
4 hours ago
Jan. 21/22 - SAG (3) - FLNT (6)
4 hours ago
Jan. 21/22 - NIAG (3) - OTT (4) - OT
5 hours ago
Jan. 21/22 - HAM (2) - KGN (5)
5 hours ago