OHL Announces 2011 SUBWAY® Super Series Rosters

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League in association with the Ontario Hockey League and the Ottawa 67’s and Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds hockey clubs today announced the rosters for Team OHL that will compete against Team Russia in the 2011 SUBWAY® Super Series.


The OHL leg of the six-game series begins in Ottawa, ON, on Thursday November 10 at the J. Benson Centre before moving north to the Essar Centre in Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Monday November 14.  The series also includes two games in the QMJHL prior to both OHL games, and two games hosted by the WHL following the game in Sault Ste. Marie, ON.


“The players that have been selected to represent the OHL in the SUBWAY Super Series have been given an incredible opportunity to display their abilities against tough competition where they can show the coaching staff and Hockey Canada that they deserve a spot on Team Canada this winter,” said Team OHL Coach Scott Walker of the Guelph Storm.  “The OHL has a history of success in this event, and I am confident that the players we have assembled for these games will compete hard against the Russians.”


37 players in total were selected for Team OHL rosters including Mark Visentin of the Niagara IceDogs who won a silver medal last year at the IIHF World Junior Championship in Buffalo, New York.  The rosters also include seven players that were selected in the first round of the 2011 NHL Entry Draft including the IceDogs’ Ryan Strome and Dougie Hamilton, Mark Scheifele of the Barrie Colts, Ryan Murphy of the Kitchener Rangers, Jamie Oleksiak of the Saginaw Spirit, Matt Puempel of the Peterborough Petes, and Stuart Percy of the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors. 


2012 NHL Entry Draft prospect Cody Ceci is one of four Ottawa 67’s that will compete before the home crowd alongside forwards Tyler Toffoli, Sean Monahan, and Tyler Graovac.  Three Greyhounds will compete on home ice in Sault Ste. Marie including forwards Nick Cousins, and Andrew Fritsch, along with defenceman Ryan Sproul. 


The Team OHL rosters were assembled by a selection committee that includes Brampton Battalion General Manager and Head Coach Stan Butler, and London Knights’ General Manager Mark Hunter.  Both Butler and Hunter worked in conjunction with Hockey Canada Head Scout Kevin Prendergast.  Coaching Team OHL along with Walker will be George Burnett of the Belleville Bulls who will be Head Coach for the game in Ottawa with 67’s Head Coach Chris Byrne serving as an Assistant.  Greyhounds’ Head Coach Mike Stapleton will serve as an Assistant Coach in Sault Ste. Marie.


Last season, Team OHL improved their record to 16-0 against Team Russia with a 4-0 win in London, ON, and a 2-1 shootout victory in Sudbury, ON. 


All six games will be broadcast nationally on Sportsnet starting at 7 pm (ET) while TVA Sports will broadcast the two contests in Victoriaville and Quebec City, QC.  Associate sponsors for the event are Bank of Montreal and CCM.


Team OHL Roster – Ottawa, ON – November 10, 2011

*Players competing in both games


Goal (2):

Andrew D’Agostini (Peterborough Petes)

Mark Visentin (Niagara IceDogs)


Defence (6):

Cody Ceci (Ottawa 67’s)

Nathan Chiarlitti (Sarnia Sting)

Dougie Hamilton (Niagara IceDogs)*

Scott Harrington (London Knights)

Slater Koekkoek (Peterborough Petes)

Stephen Silas (Belleville Bulls)


Forwards (13):

Tyler Graovac (Ottawa 67’s)

Seth Griffith (London Knights)

Boone Jenner (Oshawa Generals)

Lucas Lessio (Oshawa Generals)

Sean Monahan (Ottawa 67’s)

Tanner Pearson (Barrie Colts)*

Matt Puempel (Peterborough Petes)

Brett Ritchie (Sarnia Sting)*

Mark Scheifele (Barrie Colts)

Ryan Spooner (Kingston Frontenacs)*

Ryan Strome (Niagara IceDogs)*

Christian Thomas (Oshawa Generals)

Tyler Toffoli (Ottawa 67’s)



George Burnett, Head Coach (Belleville Bulls)

Scott Walker, Assistant Coach (Guelph Storm)

Chris Byrne, Assistant Coach (Ottawa 67’s)

Neil Hoch, Trainer (Ottawa 67’s)


Team OHL Roster – Sault Ste. Marie, ON – November 14, 2011

*Players competing in both games


Goal (2):

JP Anderson (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors)

Scott Wedgewood (Plymouth Whalers)


Defence (6):

Dougie Hamilton (Niagara IceDogs)*

Ryan Murphy (Kitchener Rangers)

Jamie Oleksiak (Saginaw Spirit)

Stuart Percy (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors)

Matt Petgrave (Owen Sound Attack)

Ryan Sproul (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)


Forwards (13):

Riley Brace (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors)

Sam Carrick (Brampton Battalion)

Daniel Catenacci (Owen Sound Attack)

Nick Cousins (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Andrew Fritsch (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Freddie Hamilton (Niagara IceDogs)

Mitchell Heard (Plymouth Whalers)

Greg McKegg (Erie Otters)

Tanner Pearson (Barrie Colts)*

Brett Ritchie (Sarnia Sting)*

Michael Sgarbossa (Sudbury Wolves)

Ryan Spooner (Kingston Frontenacs)*

Ryan Strome (Niagara IceDogs)*



Scott Walker, Head Coach (Guelph Storm)

Mike Stapleton, Assistant Coach (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Richard Rotenberg, Athletic Therapist (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Spanky Robinson, Equipment Manager (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)


For more information about the event please visit


2011 SUBWAY® Super Series Schedule of Games:

 Game 1 – Monday November 7 at Victoriaville, QC

Game 2 – Wednesday November 9 at Quebec City, QC

Game 3 – Thursday November 10 at Ottawa, ON

Game 4 – Monday November 14 at Sault Ste. Marie, ON

Game 5 – Wednesday November 16 at Regina, SK

Game 6 – Thursday November 17 at Moose Jaw, SK


About SUBWAY® restaurants

SUBWAY® restaurants are the world’s largest submarine sandwich franchise, with more than 35,400 restaurants in 98 countries and over 2,600 restaurants in Canada.  In 2011, the SUBWAY® chain surpassed McDonald’s in the number of restaurant locations worldwide. Headquartered in Milford, Conn., the SUBWAY® restaurant chain was cofounded by Fred DeLuca and Dr. Peter Buck in 1965. For more information about the SUBWAY® chain, visit  SUBWAY® is a registered trademark of Doctor’s Associates Inc.

More News
OHL News - Radio Edition for Mar. 24, 2023
9 hours ago
Team NOHA, TPH Hockey and the Thunder Bay Kings prepare for OHL Cup
9 hours ago
North Bay Battalion are back-to-back Central Division champions
16 hours ago
OHL Highlights: Mar. 23/23 - SBY (2) - BAR (4)
1 day ago
Real Canadian Superstore Save of the Night: Thornton Thwarts McCallum!
1 day ago
OHL Highlights: Mar. 23/23 – HAM (0) – NB (4)
1 day ago