OHL Announces 2016-17 Awards Finalists

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the finalists for seven of the league’s major awards for the 2016-17 regular season.

Six of the seven awards are voted on by OHL Member Teams including Rookie of the Year, Overage Player of the Year, Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Goaltender of the Year, and Defenceman of the Year.

Teams were asked to submit one nominee from their club for consideration on the ballot and were not permitted to vote for the player from their own hockey club.  The first stage of voting was by conference only with the top three players from each conference making the final ballot which is voted on by all 20 OHL General Managers.

All finalists for the Red Tilson Trophy were also nominated by the Member Teams of the Ontario Hockey League as their Most Outstanding Player for the 2016-17 regular season.  The Red Tilson Trophy is voted on by the sports writers and broadcasters in the OHL.

2016-17 OHL Awards Finalists:

Rookie of the Year / Emms Family Award Finalists:
Allan McShane (Oshawa Generals)
Ryan Merkley (Guelph Storm)
Linus Nyman (Kingston Frontenacs)
Adam Ruzicka (Sarnia Sting)
Akil Thomas (Niagara IceDogs)
Matthew Villalta (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Overage Player of the Year / Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy Finalists:
Jeremy Brodeur (Oshawa Generals)
Santino Centorame (Owen Sound Attack)
Steven Lorentz (Peterborough Petes)
Bobby MacIntyre (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Ryan Mantha (Niagara IceDogs)
Darren Raddysh (Erie Otters)

Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year / William Hanley Trophy Finalists:
Lucas Chiodo (Barrie Colts)
Joseph Garreffa (Kitchener Rangers)
Nikita Korostelev (Peterborough Petes)
Jason Robertson (Kingston Frontenacs)
Nick Suzuki (Owen Sound Attack)
Robert Thomas (London Knights)

Coach of the Year / Matt Leyden Trophy Finalists:
Drew Bannister (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
David Bell (Niagara IceDogs)
Jody Hull (Peterborough Petes)
Bob Jones (Oshawa Generals)
Kris Knoblauch (Erie Otters)
Ryan McGill (Owen Sound Attack)

Goaltender of the Year Award Finalists:
Jeremy Brodeur (Oshawa Generals)
Michael DiPietro (Windsor Spitfires)
Jeremy Helvig (Kingston Frontenacs)
Michael McNiven (Owen Sound Attack)
Tyler Parsons (London Knights)
Dylan Wells (Peterborough Petes)

Defenceman of the Year / Max Kaminsky Trophy Finalists:
Santino Centorame (Owen Sound Attack)
Ryan Mantha (Niagara IceDogs)
Darren Raddysh (Erie Otters)
Vili Saarijarvi (Mississauga Steelheads)
Mikhail Sergachev (Windsor Spitfires)
Matthew Timms (Peterborough Petes)

Most Outstanding Player of the Year / Red Tilson Trophy Finalists:
Barrie – Anthony Stefano
Erie – Alex DeBrincat
Flint – Ryan Moore
Guelph – Isaac Ratcliffe
Hamilton – Matthew Strome
Kingston – Jason Robertson
Kitchener – Adam Mascherin
London – Tyler Parsons
Mississauga – Owen Tippett
Niagara – Stephen Dhillon
North Bay – Brett McKenzie
Oshawa – Jeremy Brodeur
Ottawa – Artur Tyanulin
Owen Sound – Michael McNiven
Peterborough – Dylan Wells
Saginaw – Filip Hronek
Sarnia – Jordan Kyrou
Sault Ste. Marie – Zach Senyshyn
Sudbury – Dmitry Sokolov
Windsor – Michael DiPietro

The 2017 OHL Awards Ceremony takes place on Thursday June 8 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, however award recipients will be announced periodically throughout the remainder of the 2017 OHL Playoffs.  Additional player awards to be announced include Humanitarian of the Year, Academic Players of the Year, and the 2016-17 Mickey Renaud Captain’s Trophy recipient.

More News
Storm Name Scott Walker President of Hockey Operations
8 hours ago
Petes' Avon signs with Flyers
12 hours ago
Owen Allard commits to Greyhounds
12 hours ago
OHL 20 in 20 Season Preview: Windsor Spitfires
16 hours ago
Saint John Sea Dogs selected to host 2022 Memorial Cup presented by Kia
19 hours ago
OHL Unveils 2021-22 Regional Television Broadcast Schedule Details
2 days ago