OHL Announces 2018-19 Awards Finalists


Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the finalists for seven of the league’s major awards for the 2018-19 regular season.

Six of the seven awards are voted on by OHL Member Teams including Rookie of the Year, Overage Player of the Year, Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Goaltender of the Year, and Defenceman of the Year.

Teams were asked to submit one nominee from their club for consideration on the ballot and were not permitted to vote for the player from their own hockey club.  The first stage of voting was by conference only with the top three players from each conference making the final ballot which is voted on by all 20 OHL General Managers.

All finalists for the Red Tilson Trophy were also nominated by the Member Teams of the Ontario Hockey League as their Most Outstanding Player for the 2018-19 regular season.  The Red Tilson Trophy is voted on by the sports writers and broadcasters in the OHL.

2018-19 OHL Awards Finalists:

Rookie of the Year / Emms Family Award Finalists:
Quinton Byfield (Sudbury Wolves)
Jamie Drysdale (Erie Otters)
Cole Perfetti (Saginaw Spirit)
Jacob Perreault (Sarnia Sting)
Marco Rossi (Ottawa 67’s)
Tyler Tullio (Oshawa Generals)

Overage Player of the Year / Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy Finalists:
Justin Brazeau (North Bay Battalion)
Sean Durzi (Guelph Storm)
Tye Felhaber (Ottawa 67’s)
Kevin Hancock (London Knights)
Mac Hollowell (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Brandon Saigeon (Oshawa Generals)

Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year / William Hanley Trophy Finalists:
Cole Carter (Mississauga Steelheads)
Joseph Garreffa (Kitchener Rangers)
Ryan McGregor (Sarnia Sting)
Allan McShane (Oshawa Generals)
Nick Suzuki (Guelph Storm)
Ryan Suzuki (Barrie Colts)

Coach of the Year / Matt Leyden Trophy Finalists:
John Dean (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Dale Hunter (London Knights)
Chris Lazary (Saginaw Spirit)
Cory Stillman (Sudbury Wolves)
Andre Tourigny (Ottawa 67’s)
Greg Walters (Oshawa Generals)

Goaltender of the Year Award Finalists:
Cedrick Andree (Ottawa 67’s)
Kyle Keyser (Oshawa Generals)
Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen (Sudbury Wolves)
Ivan Prosvetov (Saginaw Spirit)
Joseph Raaymakers (London Knights)
Matthew Villalta (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Defenceman of the Year / Max Kaminsky Trophy Finalists:
Evan Bouchard (London Knights)
Declan Chisholm (Peterborough Petes)
Thomas Harley (Mississauga Steelheads)
Noel Hoefenmayer (Ottawa 67’s)
Mac Hollowell (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Bode Wilde (Saginaw Spirit)

Most Outstanding Player of the Year / Red Tilson Trophy Finalists:
Barrie – Tyler Tucker
Erie – Chad Yetman
Flint – Ty Dellandrea
Guelph – Nate Schnarr
Hamilton – Arthur Kaliyev
Kingston – Ryan Cranford
Kitchener – Riley Damiani
London – Kevin Hancock
Mississauga – Cole Carter
Niagara – Jason Robertson
North Bay – Justin Brazeau
Oshawa – Kyle Keyser
Ottawa – Tye Felhaber
Owen Sound – Trent Bourque
Peterborough – Hunter Jones
Saginaw – Owen Tippett
Sarnia – Ryan McGregor
Sault Ste. Marie – Morgan Frost
Sudbury – Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen
Windsor – Tyler Angle

The 2019 OHL Awards Ceremony takes place on Wednesday June 5 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, however award recipients will be announced periodically throughout the remainder of the 2019 OHL Playoffs.  Additional player awards to be announced include Humanitarian of the Year, Academic Players of the Year, and the 2018-19 Mickey Renaud Captain’s Trophy recipient.

More News
Bulldogs' Avery Hayes Named OHL Player of the Week
31 mins ago
Bulldogs' Marco Costantini Named OHL Goaltender of the Week
47 mins ago
#OHLPlayoffs Morning Minute: May 24, 2022
4 hours ago
May 23/22 – Game 2 West Final Photo Gallery
14 hours ago
May. 23/22 - GM2 West Final Post Game - FLNT (2) - WSR (7)
15 hours ago
Real Canadian Superstore Save Of The Night: No Skate Blade. No Problem For Cavallin
15 hours ago