OHL Decade at the World Juniors: United States


The well-documented ascension of the United States on the world hockey stage has featured a number of prominent OHL players along for the ride, helping the red, white and blue capture two golds and a total of six medals in the past decade.

This year’s version of the American National Junior Team includes returning Hamilton Bulldogs sniper Arthur Kaliyev up front while London Knights rearguard Hunter Skinner makes his World Junior debut on the back end.

Though Peterborough Petes scorer Nick Robertson won’t be available to the Americans due to his overriding commitment to attend Toronto Maple Leafs training camp, the U.S. will have a number of other offensive options in his absence. Returning first round NHL Draft picks in Trevor Zegras (Anaheim) and Alex Turcotte (Los Angeles) will both be leaned on up front alongside Montreal Canadiens draft pick Cole Caufield.

In goal, Florida Panthers first round draft pick Spencer Knight returns to the crease, playing behind an offensively-capable blue line that features Philadelphia Flyers first rounder Cam York and Ottawa Senators 2020 fifth overall pick Jake Sanderson.

The United States will compete in Group B alongside Russia, Sweden, the Czech Republic and Austria.

Here’s a look at the OHL’s American World Junior footprint over the past decade:

OHL Decade at the World Juniors – United States

2020, Ostrava & Trinec (6th): F Arthur Kaliyev (Hamilton Bulldogs), F Nick Robertson (Peterborough Petes)

2019, Vancouver (SILVER): F Sasha Chmelevski (Ottawa 67’s), G Kyle Keyser (Oshawa Generals), F Jason Robertson (Niagara IceDogs),

2018, Buffalo (BRONZE): F Logan Brown (Windsor Spitfires), F Max Jones (London Knights)

2017, Montreal & Toronto (GOLD): F Jeremy Bracco (Kitchener Rangers), G Tyler Parsons (London Knights)

2016, Helsinki (BRONZE): F Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters), F Christian Dvorak (London Knights), G Brandon Halverson (Soo Greyhounds), F Ryan MacInnis (Kitchener Rangers), F Sonny Milano*, G Alex Nedeljkovic (Niagara IceDogs), F Matthew Tkachuk (London Knights)

2015, Toronto & Montreal (5th): D Anthony DeAngelo (Sarnia Sting), G Brandon Halverson (Soo Greyhounds), F Sonny Milano (Plymouth Whalers)

2014, Malmo (5th): D Connor Carrick (Plymouth Whalers), F Ryan Hartman (Plymouth Whalers), G Anthony Stolarz (London Knights)

2013, Ufa (GOLD): F Tyler Biggs (Oshawa Generals), F Alex Galchenyuk (Sarnia Sting), G John Gibson (Kitchener Rangers), F Ryan Hartman (Plymouth Whalers), F J.T. Miller*, D Connor Murphy (Sarnia Sting), D Patrick Sieloff (Windsor Spitfires), F Vincent Trocheck (Saginaw Spirit)

2012, Calgary & Edmonton (7th): G Jack Campbell (Soo Greyhounds), G John Gibson (Kitchener Rangers), F J.T. Miller (Plymouth Whalers)*, F Brandon Saad (Saginaw Spirit), D Jarred Tinordi (London Knights), F Austin Watson (Peterborough Petes)

2011, Buffalo (BRONZE): G Jack Campbell (Windsor Spitfires), F Jerry D’Amigo (Kitchener Rangers), F Jeremy Morin (Kitchener Rangers)

*- denotes a year before or after the player competed in the OHL

More News
OHL graduate Adam McQuaid announces retirement
5 hours ago
Futures Watch: Ty Nelson (North Bay Battalion)
8 hours ago
OHL Memory Minute: Jan. 18, 2013
10 hours ago
OHL Players First Fact of the Week: Scholarship Program
13 hours ago
OHL Alumni Notebook: Jan. 18, 2021
16 hours ago
OHL Memory Minute: Jan. 17, 2015 & 2020
1 day ago