Ottawa 67’s claim Hamilton Spectator Trophy as Regular Season Champions


The Ottawa 67’s eclipsed the 100-point mark for the sixth time in their history on Friday night in Oshawa, securing their third OHL regular season title in the past four seasons with a 4-3 win over the Generals.

Luca Pinelli, Logan Morrison, Cooper Foster and Cameron Tolnai all scored as the 67’s earned their sixth Hamilton Spectator Trophy in franchise history, adding to recent regular season supremacy achieved in 2019 and 2020. The Barber Poles were also regular season champions in 1997, 1982 and 1978.

The Hamilton Spectator Trophy was first presented to the Ontario Hockey Association in the 1957-58 season. Winners have gone on to capture the OHL championship 25 times and the Memorial Cup 11 times. The Hamilton Bulldogs were both J. Ross Robertson Cup champions as well as Hamilton Spectator Trophy recipients in 2021-22. Prior to that, the 2017 Erie Otters hoisted the Robertson Cup following their second straight regular season title while the 2009 Windsor Spitfires were the last OHL club to complete the trifecta, emerging as Memorial Cup champions.

The 48-12-3-2 67’s have surrendered a league-low 167 goals and own the OHL’s best home record of 27-4-0-1. Ottawa has thrived offensively with a by-committee approach in 2022-23, featuring 13 different players with at least 10 goals.

Reigning OHL Playoff MVP Logan Morrison currently leads the 67’s with 88 points (38-50–88) on the season, with 33 of those coming in his 20 games with Ottawa. Blueliner Pavel Mintyukov is the OHL’s top-scoring defenceman with 86 points (23-63–86) on the season while overage veteran Cameron Tolnai (24-45–69) and draft eligible wingers Luca Pinelli (28-34–52) and Brady Stonehouse (34-19–53) have also been regular contributors. Nashville Predators prospect Jack Matier (13-33–46) leads the team with a plus/minus rating of plus-36.

With three games remaining on their schedule, the 67’s sit five points back of an all-time franchise record 106 points achieved in 2018-19. They’re also two wins shy of their third 50-win campaign in the past four seasons.

The 67’s are in pursuit of their fourth OHL championship after recently coming in as finalists in 2019. They last hoisted the J. Ross Robertson Cup in 2001 and are two-time Memorial Cup champions, capturing CHL supremacy in both 1984 and 1999.

More News
OHL Top Performers of the Month for March
9 hours ago
67's and Battalion included in Week 25 edition of Kia CHL Top 10 Rankings
10 hours ago
OHL Saves of the Week: Mar. 28, 2023
12 hours ago
Watch the 2023 OHL Playoffs on OHL Live!
15 hours ago
Five OHL Cup Wild Card Play-In matchups slated for Tuesday
1 day ago
Frontenacs' Ethan Miedema named Cogeco OHL Player of the Week
1 day ago