Otters’ DeBrincat becomes new franchise goal scoring leader

The Erie Otters continued to re-write their franchise record books on Thursday night as Chicago Blackhawks prospect Alex DeBrincat led a comeback effort in Peterborough, becoming the franchise’s new goal scoring leader in the process.

DeBrincat snapped a pair of third period shots past Peterborough’s Dylan Wells for his 39th and 40th goals of the season, passing Brad Boyes (141, 1998-2002) for the franchise’s goal scoring lead with the 142nd of his 171-game OHL career.

The Otters had been down 4-2 to the East Division-leading Petes, but DeBrincat’s pair knotted the score at four before draft eligible winger Ivan Lodnia scored the game winner with 2:26 remaining in the third period as the Otters extended their winning streak to six games with a 5-4 triumph.

DeBrincat is 10 goals away (with 20 games remaining) from becoming the second player in OHL history to record three consecutive 50-goal seasons, and would join Dale McCourt of the Hamilton/St. Catharines Fincups who accomplished the feat from 1974-77.

After going undrafted, the Otters signed DeBrincat as a free agent in April 2014 before the crafty winger ensued to earn OHL and CHL Rookie of the Year honours with a 104-point (51-53–104) season in 2014-15.

DeBrincat followed up his impressive rookie campaign with 101 points (51-50–101) last season, becoming the first player in Otters history to record back-to-back 50-goal seasons.

The native of Farmington Hills, Mich. leads the OHL in points (83) and goals (40) through 43 games this season.

DeBrincat looks to extend his current point streak to eight games on Saturday afternoon in Ottawa as the Otters continue a three game East Division road trip.

More News
OHL Highlights: Nov. 25/22 - NB (1) - HAM (4)
8 hours ago
OHL Highlights: Nov. 25/22 - SBY (4) - KGN (5) - OT
8 hours ago
OHL Highlights: Nov. 25/22 - SOO (4) - MISS (0)
8 hours ago
OHL Highlights: Nov. 25/22 - BAR (4) - NIAG (7)
8 hours ago
OHL Highlights: Nov. 25/22 - SAG (4) - SAR (1)
8 hours ago
OHL Highlights: Nov. 25/22 - FLNT (4) - WSR (3) - SO
8 hours ago