Robertson captures OHL scoring crown


Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy (Scoring Champion): Jason Robertson, Niagara IceDogs

Jason Robertson finished atop the regular season scoring charts earning the Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy with 117 points powered by 48 goals and 69 assists in 62 games for a league-best points-per-game average of 1.89.

The 19-year-old from Northville, Michigan, split his season between the Niagara IceDogs and the Kingston Frontenacs where he was originally a fourth round pick in the 2015 OHL Priority Selection.  His tenure with the IceDogs began in November and included 25 goals and 54 assists for 79 points in 38 games helping the club clinch their second Central Division title.

His season highlight was undoubtedly on March 1 when he surpassed the century mark for points in a season while reaching the 300 point milestone for his career.  One of three IceDogs to top 100 points this season, Robertson accomplished the feat with 30 multi-point performances including five hat-tricks while producing point-streaks of 19 and 18 games which rank second and fourth respectively among the league’s best in 2018-19.

The second round pick of the Stars in the 2017 NHL Draft signed his entry-level contract last May and won silver with the United States at the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship.  He finishes his four-year OHL career with three-straight seasons of more than 40 goals lighting the lamp a total of 149 times with 168 helpers for 317 points in 252 games.

Robertson becomes the first member of the IceDogs to win the award and sixth American following Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters, 2017), Kevin Labanc (Barrie Colts, 2016), Vincent Trocheck (Plymouth Whalers, 2013), Patrick Kane (London Knights, 2007), and Rob Schremp (London Knights, 2006).

The Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy was donated by the Toronto Marlboro Athletic Club in memory of Eddie Powers and was first awarded in 1945-46 to Tod Sloan of St. Michael’s who scored 79 points in 25 games.  Aaron Luchuk of the Barrie Colts was last year’s recipient with 115 points in 68 games including 50 goals and 65 assists.  Other recent winners include Otters Dylan Strome (2015) and Connor Brown (2014).

More News
Ashley HomeStore Highlight Reel: Ryan Suzuki
3 hours ago
Petes' Robertson makes NHL debut with Maple Leafs
14 hours ago
#SportYourMask with Kai Edmonds
1 day ago
Ashley HomeStore Highlight Reel: Hunter Jones
2 days ago
We're with you Dale
3 days ago
Unconventional camp starts road to World Juniors repeat
4 days ago