Team Ontario set for action at Canada Winter Games


Some of the top 2003-born talent eligible for the 2019 OHL Priority Selection will represent Ontario at the Canada Winter Games in Red Deer, Alta., hitting the ice for the first time on Saturday.

The 20-man roster assembled for a pre-tournament camp at the Mastercard Centre in Toronto this past week, getting familiarized with the program head coach Jeff Jordan (Ottawa, Ont./ Kemptville 73’s U18 AAA) has set before them.

Held every four years, the Canada Winter Games showcases the top under-16 hockey talent in the country that sees one province or territory emerge as the best in the Nation. Team Ontario will be entering the competition as the defending men’s hockey gold medalists having defeated Team Alberta four years ago in Prince George, BC.

Ontario’s roster includes five members of the province’s top-ranked Don Mills Flyers (GTHL), three representatives from the North Central Predators (OMHA) as well as two from the Pembroke Lumber Kings (HEO).

The team is led by Jordan and assisted by Steve Devine (Toronto, Ont./Toronto Marlboros Bantam) and Dean DeSilva (Kitchener, Ont./ Kitchener Jr. Rangers Minor Midget AAA) while OHL Director of Central Scouting Darrell Woodley oversaw the team selection process.

Team Ontario has earned five gold medals, one silver medal and two bronze medals in the last 13 Canada Winter Games. The 2015 men’s hockey roster featured four players who played on Team Canada’s National Junior Team this year including Nick Suzuki (Guelph Storm), Owen Tippett (Saginaw Spirit), Markus Phillips (Guelph Storm) and Michael DiPietro (Ottawa 67’s).

Round Robin Schedule:
Saturday February 16th vs. Nova Scotia (9:30pm ET)
Sunday February 17th vs. New Brunswick (6:00pm ET)
Monday February 18th vs. Quebec (9:30pm ET)

Team Ontario Roster:

Benjamin Gaudreau, North Bay Trappers Midget (NOHA)
Patrick Leaver, Smiths Falls Bears (HEO)

Brandt Clarke, Don Mills Flyers (GTHL)
Ethan Del Mastro, Toronto Marlboros (GTHL)
Isaac Enright, Pembroke Lumber Kings (HEO)
Jacob Holmes, York Simcoe Express (OMHA)
Connor Punnett, North Central Predators (OMHA)
Roman Schmidt, Don Mills Flyers (GTHL)

Liam Arnsby, Don Mills Flyers (GTHL)
Joshua Bloom, Toronto Young Nationals (GTHL)
Ethan Larmand, North Central Predators (OMHA)
Connor Lockhart, Kanata Lasers (HEO)
Mason McTavish, Pembroke Lumber Kings (HEO)
Justin O’Donnell, Toronto Marlboros (GTHL)
Brennan Othmann, Don Mills Flyers (GTHL)
Cole Patey, North Central Predators (OMHA)
Francesco Pinelli, Toronto Red Wings (GTHL)
Chase Stillman, Sudbury Wolves (NOHA)
Shane Wright, Don Mills Flyers (GTHL)*
Danil Zhilkin, Toronto Marlboros (GTHL)

2004-born and not currently eligible for the 2019 OHL Priority Selection

For full coverage of the 2019 Canada Winter Games, visit

More News
Marek Berka commits to Sting
8 hours ago
#StormCupTour stops in Burlington and Oakville
11 hours ago
OHL 20 in 20 Futures Watch: North Bay Battalion
14 hours ago
Firebirds announce Simon Payette as Head Equipment Manager
1 day ago
Summer With Stanley: OHL grads celebrate Blues' first Championship
1 day ago
OHL 20 in 20 Futures Watch: Hamilton Bulldogs
2 days ago