Three OHL grads win Kelly Cup title with Newfoundland


The Newfoundland Growlers are ECHL Champions in their first season of existence, defeating the Toledo Walleye by a score of 4-3 on Tuesday in St. John’s, NL. Three past and present OHL players were along for the ride throughout the 2019 ECHL playoffs.

Graduates Alex Gudbranson (Soo Greyhounds/Kingston Frontenacs 2010-14) and J.J. Piccinich (London Knights 2015-17) joined Peterborough Petes forward Semyon Der-Arguchintsev in helping the Growlers defeat Toledo in six games.

An affiliate of the Toronto Maple Leafs, the Growlers won the ECHL’s North Division with a 43-21-4-4 regular season record before eliminating the Fort Wayne Komets, Cincinnati Cyclones and Tulsa Oilers to reach the ECHL Championship Series.

A third round pick of the Maple Leafs in 2018, Der-Arguchintsev put up 46 points (6-40–46) over 62 games in his third season with Peterborough before appearing in three regular season games with Newfoundland. He suited up in nine playoff contests, recording a goal and an assist before being sidelined with an injury.

The ECHL Finalist Toledo Walleye featured six OHL graduates on their playoff roster including Peterborough Petes forward Zach Gallant who put up 12 points (6-6–12) over 24 playoff contests.

The Growlers are the first team to win the ECHL Championship in their first season of existence since the Greensboro Monarchs last did so in 1990.

For full coverage of the 2019 ECHL Playoffs visit

More News
OHL 20 in 20 Season Preview: London Knights
4 hours ago
Employment Opportunity - Marketing & Servicing Coordinator
7 hours ago
Pre-Season Pulse: Sunday September 15th
21 hours ago
OHL 20 in 20 Season Preview: Saginaw Spirit
1 day ago
Firebirds' Kolyachonok signs with Panthers
1 day ago
Pre-Season Pulse: Saturday September 14th
2 days ago