Windsor Spitfires are 2023 West Division champions


The Windsor Spitfires secured their second straight West Division title on Friday night, taking two points against an age-0ld rival.

Alex Christopoulos scored goals 47, 48 and 49 to lead the Spits to a 6-3 road win over the London Knights, improving their record to 44-17-4-2 as Windsor clinched the first seed in the Western Conference.

The Spitfires claim the Bumbacco Trophy for the fourth time in their history, following other division crowns in 2009, 2010 and 2022. They’ve also etched their name onto the Emms Trophy in 1988 and 1980 prior to the League’s realignment. The Bumbacco Trophy was inaugurated in 1994-95 when the league realigned into three divisions.  The award is named after former Soo Greyhounds general manager Angelo Bumbacco.

After pacing the OHL with 305 goals in 2021-22, the reigning Western Conference champions are doing so again, netting 317 through their 67 games this season. They boast the League’s leading goal-scorer and point producer in veteran captain Matthew Maggio (53-57–110), while Christopoulos’ 11 power play goals have fuelled the OHL’s top power play unit, one operating at 25.8 percent.

The Spitfires have benefitted from the mid-season additions of Shane Wright (15-20–35), Brett Harrison (33-35–68) along with defencemen Rodwin Dionicio (15-34–49) and Jacob Holmes (5-25–30) while early-season pick-up Joey Costanzo has been a rock in the crease, going 26-6-0-2 with a 3.03 goals-against average and .901 save percentage in 40 games.

The Spitfires, who last won consecutive West Division titles in 2009 and 2010 en route to a pair of Memorial Cup championships, close out the regular season at home on Saturday, taking on the London Knights in the back-end of a home-and-home set.

More News
14 OHL Alumni face off in 2023 Stanley Cup Final
14 hours ago
20 OHL Players Invited to 2023 NHL Scouting Combine
17 hours ago
Lane Sim commits to Sting
19 hours ago
PJ Fagan commits to Knights
19 hours ago
Four OHL representatives recognized with 2023 CHL Awards
2 days ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Dave Cameron (Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award)
2 days ago