Fabbri wins ’99’ Award as OHL Playoff MVP

Robby Fabbri of the Guelph Storm was named Most Valuable Player of the 2014 OHL Playoffs and is the recipient of the Wayne Gretzky 99 Award.

The 2014 NHL Draft prospect recorded three assists in the series clinching Game 5 victory of the Rogers OHL Championship Series setting up the Storm’s final three goals in the 4-3 victory over the North Bay Battalion lifting the club to their third Robertson Cup in franchise history.

Fabbri, an 18-year-old from Mississauga, ON, finished the playoffs with 28 points in 16 games scoring 13 goals and 15 assists with a league-high 13-game point-streak that included eight multi-point games highlighted by a four-point performance with a hat-trick in Game 3 of the Rogers Western Conference Championship Series against the Erie Otters.

Fabbri becomes the second member of the Storm to claim the award following Martin St. Pierre in 2004.

Watch the Wayne Gretzky ’99’ Award Presentation

The OHL introduced the Wayne Gretzky 99 Award in 1999 to honour the Most Valuable Player in the OHL Playoffs as selected by the media.  Gretzky, a native of Brantford, graduated from the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds to become the most prolific scorer in the history of the NHL.  The league created the award in tribute of ‘The Great One’ shortly after he announced his retirement from the NHL in 1999.

Wayne Gretzky 99 Award winners:

2014 – Robby Fabbri (Guelph Storm)

2013 – Bo Horvat (London Knights)

2012 – Austin Watson (London Knights)

2011 – Robby Mignardi (Owen Sound Attack)

2010 – Adam Henrique (Windsor Spitfires)

2009 – Taylor Hall (Windsor Spitfires)

2008 – Justin Azevedo (Kitchener Rangers)

2007 – Marc Staal (Sudbury Wolves)

2006 – Daniel Ryder (Peterborough Petes)

2005 – Corey Perry (London Knights)

2004 – Martin St. Pierre (Guelph Storm)

2003 – Derek Roy (Kitchener Rangers)

2002 – Brad Boyes (Erie Otters)

2001 – Seamus Kotyk (Ottawa 67’s)

2000 – Brian Finley (Barrie Colts)

1999 – Justin Papineau (Belleville Bulls)

More News
Four OHL representatives recognized with 2023 CHL Awards
40 mins ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Dave Cameron (Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award)
4 hours ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Evan Vierling (Sportsman Player of the Year Award)
4 hours ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Dalyn Wakely (Humanitarian of the Year Award)
4 hours ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Colby Barlow (Scholastic Player of the Year Award)
4 hours ago
Peterborough's remarkable run comes to an end in Memorial Cup Semi-Final
17 hours ago