OHL Announces 2014-15 Award Finalists

Wednesday March 25, 2015

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the finalists for seven of the league’s major awards for the 2014-15 regular season. 

Six of the seven awards are voted on by OHL Member Teams including Rookie of the Year, Overage Player of the Year, Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Goaltender of the Year, and Defenceman of the Year.  Teams were asked to submit one nominee from their club for consideration on the ballot and were not permitted to vote for the player from their own hockey club.  The first stage of voting was by conference only with the top three players from each conference making the final ballot to be voted on by all 20 OHL General Managers.

All finalists for the Red Tilson Trophy were nominated by the Member Teams of the Ontario Hockey League as their Most Outstanding Player for the 2014-15 regular season.  The Red Tilson Trophy is voted on by the sports writers and broadcasters in the OHL. 

2014-15 OHL Award Finalists:

Rookie of the Year / Emms Family Award Finalists:
Anthony Cirelli (Oshawa Generals)
Jakob Chychrun (Sarnia Sting)
Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters)
Matt Luff (Belleville Bulls)
Michael McLeod (Mississauga Steelheads)
Zachary Senyshyn (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Overage Player of the Year / Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy Finalists:
Joseph Blandisi (Barrie Colts)
Erik Bradford (Owen Sound Attack)
Chris Carlisle (Oshawa Generals)
Jean Dupuy (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Marcus McIvor (North Bay Battalion)
Jake Paterson (Kitchener Rangers)

Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year / William Hanley Trophy Finalists:
Michael Dal Colle (Oshawa Generals)
Christian Dvorak (London Knights)
Darby Llewellyn (Kitchener Rangers)
Brendan Perlini (Niagara IceDogs)
Dylan Strome (Erie Otters)
Spencer Watson (Kingston Frontenacs)

Goaltender of the Year Finalists:
Ken Appleby (Oshawa Generals)
Brandon Halverson (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Spencer Martin (Mississauga Steelheads)
Alex Nedeljkovic (Plymouth Whalers)
Jake Paterson (Kitchener Rangers)
Lucas Peressini (Kingston Frontenacs)

Defenceman of the Year / Max Kaminsky Trophy Finalists:
Rasmus Andersson (Barrie Colts)
Chris Bigras (Owen Sound Attack)
Jakob Chychrun (Sarnia Sting)
Anthony DeAngelo (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Brenden Miller (North Bay Battalion)
Jordan Subban (Belleville Bulls)

Coach of the Year / Matt Leyden Trophy Finalists:
Jeff Brown (Ottawa 67’s)
Stan Butler (North Bay Battalion)
Greg Gilbert (Saginaw Spirit)
Sheldon Keefe (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Kris Knoblauch (Erie Otters)
D.J Smith (Oshawa Generals)

Most Outstanding Player of the Year / Red Tilson Trophy Finalists:
Barrie – Joseph Blandisi
Belleville – Charlie Graham
Erie – Connor McDavid
Guelph – Tyler Bertuzzi
Kingston – Lucas Peressini
Kitchener – Ryan MacInnis
London – Max Domi
Mississauga – Sam Babintsev
Niagara – Carter Verhaeghe
North Bay – Nick Paul
Oshawa – Cole Cassels
Ottawa – Dante Salituro
Owen Sound – Zach Nastasiuk
Peterborough – Matt Mancina
Plymouth – Alex Nedeljkovic
Saginaw – Connor Brown
Sarnia – Jakob Chychrun
Sault Ste. Marie – Anthony DeAngelo
Sudbury – Kyle Capobianco
Windsor – Trevor Murphy

The 2015 OHL Awards Ceremony takes place on Tuesday June 9 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, however award recipients will be announced periodically throughout the 2015 OHL Playoffs.  Additional player awards to be announced include Humanitarian of the Year, Academic Players of the Year, and the 2014-15 Mickey Renaud Captain’s Trophy recipient.   

Recipients of four of the league’s annual awards were announced upon completion of the 2014-15 regular season:

Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy (Scoring Champion): Dylan Strome, Erie Otters
Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy (Top Scoring Right Winger):
Mitchell Marner, London Knights
Dave Pinkney Trophy (Lowest Team Goals Against):
Ken Appleby and Jeremy Brodeur, Oshawa Generals
F.W. “Dinty” Moore Trophy (Best Rookie GAA):
Michael McNiven, Owen Sound Attack

The 2015 OHL Playoffs begin on Thursday March 26. 

More News
Four OHL representatives recognized with 2023 CHL Awards
1 hour ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Dave Cameron (Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award)
5 hours ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Evan Vierling (Sportsman Player of the Year Award)
5 hours ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Dalyn Wakely (Humanitarian of the Year Award)
5 hours ago
CHL Awards Media Availability: Colby Barlow (Scholastic Player of the Year Award)
5 hours ago
Peterborough's remarkable run comes to an end in Memorial Cup Semi-Final
18 hours ago