OHL Announces All-Star Teams

The Ontario Hockey League today announced its All-Star Teams for the 2007-08 season.

Six members of the OHL champion Kitchener Rangers were named to the OHL All-Star Teams, including forwards Justin Azevedo and Matt Halischuk, who were both named to the First Team. Four members of the Eastern Conference champion Belleville Bulls were selected, including Mike Murphy, the First Team goaltender.

Four of the OHL’s top prospects for the 2008 NHL Entry Draft were selected, including First Team defencemen Drew Doughty of the Guelph Storm and Zach Bogosian of the Peterborough Petes. Steven Stamkos of the Sarnia Sting was named to the Second Team and Alex Pietrangelo of the Niagara IceDogs was named to the Third Team.

The OHL All-Star Teams were selected by a voting process of the OHL’s general managers. Players received five points for a first place vote, three for a second place vote and one for a third.

2007-08 OHL All-Star Teams

First Team

Centre — Justin Azevedo, Kitchener Rangers (72)
Left Wing — Brett MacLean, Oshawa Generals (67)
Right Wing — Matt Halischuk, Kitchener Rangers (70)
Defence — Drew Doughty, Guelph Storm (87)
Defence – Zach Bogosian, Peterborough Petes (71)
Goaltender — Mike Murphy, Belleville Bulls (54)
Coach — Bob Boughner, Windsor Spitfires (57)

Second Team
Centre — Steven Stamkos, Sarnia Sting (70)
Left Wing — Luca Caputi, Niagara IceDogs (45)
Right Wing — Stefan Legein, Niagara IceDogs (33)
Defence — Bobby Sanguinetti, Brampton Battalion (45)
Defence — Yannick Weber, Kitchener Rangers (41)
Goaltender — Steve Mason, Kitchener Rangers (47)
Coach — Peter DeBoer, Kitchener Rangers (45)

Third Team
Centre — Shawn Matthias, Belleville Bulls (31)
Left Wing — Matt Beleskey, Belleville Bulls (24)
Right Wing — Wayne Simmonds, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (28)
Defence — Alex Pietrangelo, Niagara IceDogs (39)
Defence — Ryan Wilson, Sarnia Sting (20)
Goaltender — Thomas McCollum, Guelph Storm (39)
Coach — George Burnett, Belleville Bulls (44)

More News
Windsor Spitfires are 2023 West Division champions
32 mins ago
OHL News - Radio Edition for Mar. 24, 2023
10 hours ago
Team NOHA, TPH Hockey and the Thunder Bay Kings prepare for OHL Cup
10 hours ago
North Bay Battalion are back-to-back Central Division champions
17 hours ago
OHL Highlights: Mar. 23/23 - SBY (2) - BAR (4)
1 day ago
Real Canadian Superstore Save of the Night: Thornton Thwarts McCallum!
1 day ago