2022 OHL Priority Selection First Round Recap

Watch more OHL Priority Selection on OHL TV


Toronto, Ont. – Twenty-three players from across 14 different organizations were chosen in the first round of the 2022 OHL Priority Selection presented by Real Canadian Superstore on Friday, April 29.

The Priority Selection got started with teammates being chosen first and second overall with exceptional status forward Michael Misa hearing his name called first by the Saginaw Spirit before Malcolm Spence, also of the OHL Cup champion Mississauga Senators, was picked up second by the Erie Otters. It marks the third time in the past four years that teammates have kicked off the Priority Selection. Gabriel Frasca would become the third Senators player to go in the first round at 17th overall, following older brother Jordan into the Kingston Frontenacs organization.

The Greater Toronto Hockey League produced nine of the first 10 selections, with four members of the GTHL champion Toronto Jr. Canadiens within that group.

After Navan Grads centreman Nathan Villeneuve went third overall to the Sudbury Wolves, and Toronto Marlboros rearguard Sam Dickinson was the first defenceman selected, going to the Niagara IceDogs at fourth, JRC had a run of three straight picks in Porter Martone (5th overall, Sarnia), Jack Van Volsen (6th overall, Peterborough) and blueliner Henry Mews (7th overall, Ottawa). Standout centreman Michael Hage (9th overall, Kitchener) would go two picks later. Blueliner Anthony Cristoforo was the fifth Jr. Canadiens player selected inside the opening round, going 22nd overall to the Windsor Spitfires.

The Jr. Canadiens join five other teams to have produced four of the first 10 picks in Priority Selection history, accompanied by the 2021 Oakville Rangers (Ritchie, Soto, Lardis, Misa), the 2020 OHL Cup champion Don Mills Flyers (Wright, Othmann, Clarke, Arnsby), the 2011-12 Toronto Marlboros (McDavid, McKeown, Ho-Sang, Bennett), the 2007-08 Toronto Jr. Canadiens (McFarland, O’Connor, Toffoli, Smith-Pelly) and the 2004-05 Toronto Marlboros (Tavares, Aliu, Smith, Cameron).

In total, the GTHL had 13 names called in the opening round, with Toronto Marlboros winger Beckett Sennecke (8th overall, Oshawa), North York Rangers forward Christopher Brown (16th overall, Sault Ste. Marie), Vaughan Kings forward Kaden Pitre (18th overall, Flint) and Markham Majors blueliner Zayne Parekh (19th overall, Saginaw) rounding out that group.

Hockey Eastern Ontario produced three selections within the first 11 players chosen, with Villeneuve leading the group followed by forward Cole Beaudoin of the Nepean Raiders (10th overall, Barrie) and another Navan Grads attacker in Ben Cormier (11th overall, Owen Sound).

The Ontario Minor Hockey Association produced four first rounders including defenceman Ben Danford of the Quinte Red Devils (14th overall, Oshawa), SCTA U16 Player of the Year Luca Testa of the Niagara North Stars (15th overall, London), ETA Player of the Year Ethan Procyszyn of the North Central Predators (20th overall, North Bay) and Markham Waxers defenceman Frankie Marrelli (21st overall, Ottawa).

The Minor Hockey Alliance of Ontario featured three names in the opening round, with Brantford 99ers teammates Lucas Karmiris (13th overall, Mississauga) and Marek Vanacker (23rd overall, Hamilton) joining London Jr. Knights forward Jett Luchanko (12th overall, Guelph) in that group.

Of the 23 first round selections, all but four will be eligible for the 2024 NHL Draft with the exception of Misa, Spence, Martone and Karmiris who won’t be eligible until 2025.

The first round saw 17 forwards and six defencemen chosen by OHL clubs.

2022 OHL Priority Selection – First Round Selections:

Click on player name to watch profile video

1. Saginaw Spirit – Michael Misa (Mississauga Senators) – 5.09.75, 157Ib., C

2. Erie Otters – Malcolm Spence (Mississauga Senators) – 6.00, 175Ib., LW

3. Sudbury Wolves – Nathan Villeneuve (Navan Grads U18) – 6.00, 183Ib., C

4. Niagara IceDogs – Sam Dickinson (Toronto Marlboros) – 6.02, 190Ib., LD

5. Sarnia Sting – Porter Martone (Toronto Jr. Canadiens) – 6.02.5, 171Ib., RW

6. Peterborough Petes – Jack Van Volsen (Toronto Jr. Canadiens) – 6.01, 169Ib., C

7. Ottawa 67’s – Henry Mews (Toronto Jr. Canadiens) – 5.11.75, 175Ib., RD

8. Oshawa Generals – Beckett Sennecke (Toronto Marlboros) – 5.10, 150Ib., LW

9. Kitchener Rangers – Michael Hage (Toronto Jr. Canadiens) – 6.00, 168Ib., C

10. Barrie Colts – Cole Beaudoin (Nepean Raiders U18) – 6.02, 190Ib., C

11. Owen Sound Attack – Ben Cormier (Navan Grads U18) – 5.11, 175Ib., C

12. Guelph Storm – Jett Luchanko (London Jr. Knights) – 5.10.75, 159Ib., RW

13. Mississauga Steelheads – Lucas Karmiris (Brantford 99ers) – 5.10, 167Ib., C

14. Oshawa Generals – Ben Danford (Quinte Red Devils) – 6.00, 176Ib., LD

15. London Knights – Luca Testa (Niagara North Stars) – 6.00, 166Ib., C

16. Soo Greyhounds – Christopher Brown (North York Rangers) – 5.10, 156Ib., C

17. Kingston Frontenacs – Gabriel Frasca (Mississauga Senators) – 6.00, 162Ib., C

18. Flint Firebirds – Kaden Pitre (Vaughan Kings) – 5.10.75, 167Ib., C

19. Saginaw Spirit – Zayne Parekh (Markham Majors) – 5.10.75, 156Ib., D

20. North Bay Battalion – Ethan Procyszyn (North Central Predators) – 6.01, 180Ib., RW

21. Ottawa 67’s – Frankie Marrelli (Markham Waxers) – 5.10, 186Ib., LD

22. Windsor Spitfires – Anthony Cristoforo (Toronto Jr. Canadiens) – 5.10.25, 173Ib., RD

23. Hamilton Bulldogs – Marek Vanacker (Brantford 99ers) – 6.00.25, 164Ib., LW

More News
Dustin Good commits to Greyhounds
6 mins ago
Logan Morrison named Bulldogs captain
1 hour ago
Caleb Van De Ven commits to Greyhounds
2 hours ago
Truth & Reconciliation: Highlighting the Indigenous Hockey Equipment Drive
5 hours ago
Thursday Highlights: Steelheads, Petes and Generals winners on Opening Night
15 hours ago
OHL Highlights: Sept 29/22 – ER (4) – PBO (5) - SO
15 hours ago