Attack’s Logan LeSage Named OHL’s Top Academic High School Student

Watch more on OHL TV >


Toronto, Ont. – The Ontario Hockey League is pleased to announce that Owen Sound Attack forward Logan LeSage is the 2019-20 recipient of the Ivan Tennant Memorial Award presented annually to the League’s Top Academic High School Student.

LeSage put together an impressive 98% average in his Grade 12 studies at Owen Sound District Secondary School with a course load that included University-level English, International Business, Organizational Business Management, Leadership, Social Science, as well as a Business Leadership Co-op program. He received a perfect 100% grade in his International Business studies.

“I feel very privileged to earn the Ivan Tennant Memorial Award this year from the Ontario Hockey League,” said LeSage. “I’m grateful for all the support I received from the Owen Sound Attack organization, ownership, coaching staff, teachers and teammates. A special shout-out to our Educational Advisor, Sarah Rowe. Sarah’s encouragement and support went a long way in helping me reach my academic goals. It takes hard work to balance academics and a busy hockey schedule, and I am appreciative of the OHL for giving me the tools and resources needed to succeed.”

An 18-year-old native of Nepean, Ont., LeSage appeared in 21 games with the Attack during his rookie season, recording a goal and three assists. He scored his first career OHL goal on February 1 against Windsor. He was the club’s second round (29th overall) pick in the 2019 OHL Under-18 Priority Selection from the Carleton Place Canadians U18 program.

“Logan did an incredible job this year from start to finish,” said Attack general manager Dale DeGray. “Between hockey and school, Logan committed fully to the team and his education. To be able to achieve marks that high while putting his work in every day is fantastic. Logan did this himself, but for Attack educational supervisor Sarah Rowe to have her students win this three years in a row is an accomplishment we want recognized as well.”

The Ivan Tennant Memorial Award is given to the Top Academic High School Player and is named in honour of Ivan Tennant, who spent a lifetime combining hockey and education. He was the Kitchener Rangers’ Education Consultant for 20 years and a key figure on the OHL’s Education Consultant’s Committee. LeSage follows back-to-back winner Mack Guzda (2018 & 2019) along with Andrew Shorkey (2007) as the third different player in Attack history to win the award. Other past recipients include Kyle Keyser (Flint 2016), Adam Pelech (Erie 2012), Dougie Hamilton (Niagara 2010) and Freddie Hamilton (Niagara 2009).

Finalists for the award included goaltender Aidan Campbell of the Erie Otters and 2019 co-recipient Zack Terry of the Guelph Storm.

More News
Jan. 25/22 – NB (2) – NIAG (3) - SO
8 hours ago
OHL Play of the Night: One of the nicest goals we've seen in the Sudbury Arena this season!
8 hours ago
Real Canadian Superstore Save of the Night: Josh Rosenzweig Saves The Day In Overtime
8 hours ago
Tuesday Highlights: Veccia's pair powers first place Trout
8 hours ago
Jan. 25/22 – MISS (4) – PBO (1)
8 hours ago
Jan. 25/22 – BAR (9) – SBY (1)
8 hours ago